We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - Great rooms / Very clean / Best location possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - Great rooms / Very clean / Best location possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked our room back 8 months ago...with two queens needed. Upon arrival, we were offered joining rooms, each with a queen bed. This was awesome and allowed us much more room and two bathrooms. Stayed with my 7 and 11 year old boys....right next to Durango / Silverton Train Station...so wonderful views of trains and train yards. Super location....very easy to walk around the wonderful town. Breakfast was simple, but great....and good coffee. Coffee available downstairs anytime...which is great. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear, "GPFarms"
Happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade. Due to some remodeling we didn't have the original room configuration, but it sounds as though the change worked for you.
Thank you so much for leaving a review, I appreciate them all.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    62
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
99
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fascinating and elegant from the moment we entered the lobby. Well-appointed solarium where breakfast is served with homemade blueberry muffins and soft scones. Back porch areas on second and third level overlooking train tracks for narrow gauge trains.
The amenities in rooms were quality toiletries and the bed was the most comfortable of any on our trip.
The elevator was the older Otis where the lift arrived and the door and gate had to be opened and closed. We loved the attention to detail in preserving this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Morning, "Nat D"
The Otis elevator is actually, I am told, the oldest this side of the Mississippi. Maybe be, yes, maybe no. But I do know it is pretty cool to have in the hotel. The name itself denotes such rich history.
Thank your for your review, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a hotel were we stayed for 2 nights in order to take the Durango to Silverton train. The hotel was convenient to the train station and within walking distance to some good restaurants. The staff was cordial and helpful. The breakfast was just what we needed before catching the 8 AM train. The rooms were small as this is an older, historic building, but the beds were comfortable and the room spotless. We would stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear, "FrankR_Austin"
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, it truly is so convenient to stay downtown. You can visit shops, arrange for guided trips, dine in fabulous restaurants all without having to get into your car.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When your looking for a place to stay in a town that you have never been to like Durango CO - It is so nice to know there is the General Palmer Hotel. This hotel is right next to the D&SNGRR train Depot and in the heart of downtown Durango on Main Ave. The service staff always go above and beyond to make sure they exceed your expectations. Warm cookies in the lobby are always waiting for you. The breakfast in the morning is the best. While this hotel does not have a restaurant on site you do have access to the many, many fine dining restaurants within walking distance of the hotel - Ken & Sue's, Ore House, Steamworks Brewery, and East by Southwest.- All wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: The hotel does have interior rooms which do not have windows - It is worth spending a little extra t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Morning, "Bruce M"
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, I love my staff, they are one of the hotels best and sometimes unseen attributes.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Conveniently located in town close to the (narrow gauge) railway station and centre of town. Nice large car park so dump the car and wander. The style of the hotel is rather nice, looks almost like you should still have cowboys riding past on horses.
The hotel has some nice touches, like free hot drinks and cookies all day and a reasonable if limited breakfast of waffles, breakfast sausages, egg, scones, yoghurts, muffins and toast. The room had the usual collection of amenities including a pod coffee machine.
Let down by some details, like coffee cups not cleared from the lounge, but otherwise generally very good, recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear "Milton Keynes"
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer, I enjoy hearing about our guests stay. We learn so much from them and honestly take to heart what has been written. Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Palmer is a not-so-hidden gem in the very heart of downtown Durango. Considering the location, it's an excellent value. With clean, well-maintained rooms and a friendly greeting, GM Paula Nelson and her hand-picked staff will make sure you are as comfortable as possible throughout your stay in Durango. Amazing location with ample parking on the same block as the D&SNGRR, expect to hear a train whistle early in the morning during the summer- though this is hard to escape anywhere in Downtown Durango. Might as well get the full experience! Incredible continental breakfast that can be delivered to your room each day, newspapers, books, great conversation, and fresh, local coffee can be found literally around the clock in the lobby beautiful and antique sitting rooms. Access to literally everything Durango has to offer (including all the downtown restaurants and food delivery) within walking distance, you can park the car and forget about driving until you're on the way out of town. Be prepared for a fairly authentic, luxury hotel experience. A small, 3-person elevator, thinner walls, and sometimes creaky floors and bumps in the night invoke a wild-west charm that the main building of The Palmer has in spades. Likewise, as historic brothel and once separate hotel, the annex building offers a little more privacy with outside entrances and family suites available. Lush towels in the individual baths, nearly pristine rooms with nice beds, and excellent availability if you plan ahead a bit, The Palmer offers the full experience without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for the historic annex building if you want extra privacy or have a family (no elevator in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Morning "Dan K'
Thank you for leaving such a great review of our hotel. I appreciated the touch of detail you added. The Annex Wing can truly be a little oasis away from the noise of the streets.
Thanx again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. Great downtown location next to train station. We stayed in the annex with three bedrooms and it was very nice. No elevator if that bothers you. We had a friend over and sat in the main hotel with a bottle of wine to catch up. We were going to meet at a bar but this was perfect to be able to talk. The seating areas are cozy and unique. Beds and pillows were good. Coffee and tea available all the time and cookies in the evening. Breakfast had plenty to pick from. They take AAA which was nice. The original elevator is working . Very cool. Checked the Stradler first and found this to be a better value. Very memorable stay although it was only for one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear JlBaker55
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the General Palmer Hotel. Durango is such an amazing little town with so much to do. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.