We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, nearly great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, nearly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Conveniently located in town close to the (narrow gauge) railway station and centre of town. Nice large car park so dump the car and wander. The style of the hotel is rather nice, looks almost like you should still have cowboys riding past on horses.
The hotel has some nice touches, like free hot drinks and cookies all day and a reasonable if limited breakfast of waffles, breakfast sausages, egg, scones, yoghurts, muffins and toast. The room had the usual collection of amenities including a pod coffee machine.
Let down by some details, like coffee cups not cleared from the lounge, but otherwise generally very good, recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear "Milton Keynes"
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer, I enjoy hearing about our guests stay. We learn so much from them and honestly take to heart what has been written. Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
107
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Palmer is a not-so-hidden gem in the very heart of downtown Durango. Considering the location, it's an excellent value. With clean, well-maintained rooms and a friendly greeting, GM Paula Nelson and her hand-picked staff will make sure you are as comfortable as possible throughout your stay in Durango. Amazing location with ample parking on the same block as the D&SNGRR, expect to hear a train whistle early in the morning during the summer- though this is hard to escape anywhere in Downtown Durango. Might as well get the full experience! Incredible continental breakfast that can be delivered to your room each day, newspapers, books, great conversation, and fresh, local coffee can be found literally around the clock in the lobby beautiful and antique sitting rooms. Access to literally everything Durango has to offer (including all the downtown restaurants and food delivery) within walking distance, you can park the car and forget about driving until you're on the way out of town. Be prepared for a fairly authentic, luxury hotel experience. A small, 3-person elevator, thinner walls, and sometimes creaky floors and bumps in the night invoke a wild-west charm that the main building of The Palmer has in spades. Likewise, as historic brothel and once separate hotel, the annex building offers a little more privacy with outside entrances and family suites available. Lush towels in the individual baths, nearly pristine rooms with nice beds, and excellent availability if you plan ahead a bit, The Palmer offers the full experience without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for the historic annex building if you want extra privacy or have a family (no elevator in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Good Morning "Dan K'
Thank you for leaving such a great review of our hotel. I appreciated the touch of detail you added. The Annex Wing can truly be a little oasis away from the noise of the streets.
Thanx again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. Great downtown location next to train station. We stayed in the annex with three bedrooms and it was very nice. No elevator if that bothers you. We had a friend over and sat in the main hotel with a bottle of wine to catch up. We were going to meet at a bar but this was perfect to be able to talk. The seating areas are cozy and unique. Beds and pillows were good. Coffee and tea available all the time and cookies in the evening. Breakfast had plenty to pick from. They take AAA which was nice. The original elevator is working . Very cool. Checked the Stradler first and found this to be a better value. Very memorable stay although it was only for one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear JlBaker55
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the General Palmer Hotel. Durango is such an amazing little town with so much to do. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here. It's a charming Victorian era small hotel.
Fresh baked cookies are set out in the lobby each afternoon at tea time. Tea is always available.
The staff are all friendly & helpful. Our phone was cordless & not functioning - a slip due to recent renovations but this es quickly resolved.
The room had two queen beds and was spacious. We had 4 windows!! A big ceiling fan moved the air do it was never stale. The bathroom was a spacious with a separate room for the toilet & shower. The shower was very good. Free wifi and a nice modern tv mounted on the wall had lots of channels.
The only thing I don't use here is the tiny old style cage door elevator - just too tiny for my " claustrophobic " wariness. But it's only got 3 floors and the stairs are good exercise!
Great value for service and excellent proximity to restaurants and shops as it's right on Main street. Plus it's right beside the train station if you're interested in doing the train excursions. Starbucks is across the street. A fantastic chocolate store is right next door. I recommend Seasons restaurant for a truly lovely dinner experience. And the hotel provides a continental breakfast.
I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear "hikesedonachick"
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer hotel. I believe one of our greatest assets is our location too. I don't think you can get any closer to the train station. For those of you unfamiliar with our Narrow Gauge train, it leaves in the morning and comes back in the late afternoon. This is not a train that screams by many times a day, but is to take guests to the old mining town of Silverton.
Thanks again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed one night to celebrate our 27th anniversary. I believe this was our 4th stay at the General Palmer. The staff is always very friendly and this is such a beautiful historic hotel with beautifully maintained rooms. For the first time we stayed in a room above the Palace restaurant right next to the train station. Other stays were in the hotel itself. The rooms above the Palace are just as lovely as in the hotel, you just have to walk across the hotel's parking lot and up a flight of stairs. Rooms are beautifully decorated with period furniture, very comfortable beds with quality bedding and bathrooms modern and clean. The hotel includes a very nice continental breakfast and when they are not too busy, they will actually bring it to your room! 2 chairs and table plus a desk or dresser in the rooms as well nice armoires for hanging your clothes and one that houses the TV we never turned on. Prefect location on Main Ave to walk to many great restaurants. Also their rates are very reasonable! You get so much more for your buck here. I don't understand why anyone would pay more to stay at a generic chain hotel in Durango?!

Room Tip: If you want to save a few dollars and don't mind walking one flight of stairs, ask for a room ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear "Swedenamerican
You are so awesome, thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. Especially including the Palace, indeed, we have worked just as hard at maintaining them as the rest of the hotel. Hope to see you again next year.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

... in facts, the worst experience in our lives! What was supposed to be a warm and accomodating room has revealed to be a refrigereting room! And this is not a joke at all, as it was -14℃ outside during the night. We had been given an extra blanket but it's still terrible to know that you can't come out the bed or you'd freeze. Moreover, breakfast is served in a chilled room as well, so we had to finally recover in our car to stay a little bit warmer. Unfortunately I would not reccomand it, at least in winter/spring time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear "Broglio I"
Thank you very much for your review of you stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. I do sincerely apologize for the room/rooms being so frigid, it is not typical, but I do thank you again for letting us know, it is how we learn what is important to our guests.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was the best find ever! To be able to visit an historical hotel that instead of looking aged looks beautifully kept up with all the "warm and fuzzies" of home was amazing. The breakfast was yummy and healthy with all baked items made fresh every morning. Cookies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate every afternoon and smiles from all hotel staff…we cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good Morning, "Kathleen F"
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the General Palmer hotel. I feel that my staff does an awesome job, such a great group of young people!!! Many of them are taking classes up at the college in Hotel management and this seems to be the perfect stepping stone for them. Thank you for the encouragement!
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.