We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Durango
Princeton, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed a clean and quiet room. The staff was great and the location is perfect for shopping, places to eat and the narrow gauge train to Silverton. The breakfast fare was just OK. In fact one morning the breakfast person did not show up for work and the front desk staff had to scramble to get the coffee ready.I expected a little more from this facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, Owner at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi "Jerry"
I apologize for the delay in your morning coffee, I know for myself that this is what gets me going in the morning, and do realize how important it is. Thank you for your review and hopefully you will revisit Durango Co.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
90
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to ride the Durango rail road. It is just a short walk to the station. Everything is very up to date and modern, with 1 exception, the elevator has to be original, no more than 3 people fit in the car with luggage but the the experience is very satisfying. The Hotel has ample parking in their own lot and we able leave our vehicle for the night when we spent a day and night in Silverton until our return for an additional stay in Durango

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear "Jim E"
Oh yes the elevator is original, I sometimes wonder what they were thinking when it was built so small. People back then may have been smaller, but I think about those huge steamer trunks that they traveled with. Thank you for your review, we all appreciated it.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Durango for our honeymoon and were presently surprised by the quality of the General Palmer hotel. The front desk staff provided excellent, friendly service--they even wrote us a personalized thank you letter for staying at the hotel! The presidential suite was absolutely stunning, definitely worth the extra bucks (however, we mentioned it was for our honeymoon and they gave us the price for a regular king size room!). The breakfast was good quality and delivered to the room free of charge. Additionally, wireless was also free, none of the usual hassles with costly wireless commonly associated with higher end hotels. The hotel is conveniently located downtown close to all the shops so everything is within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone planning on spending their honeymoon in Durango or just getting away for a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear "DruBones"
Thank you for your review, we truly loved having you stay with us for your honeymoon, maybe you can visit again on an anniversary. I and my staff throughly love what we do and so it is a great treat to hear you enjoyed yourselves.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at this hotel in Durango, Colorado. This hotel has the most beautiful antiques, comfortable beds, great amenities as well as a great breakfast.

The General Palmer is also in a great location for those who want to walk and shop or eat. It is also right next to the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad Depot. It was just a great experience. And they do give seniors a discount on the rooms.

I recommend it to all who plan on visiting Durango.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear, "Linda P"
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the General Palmer hotel. One of the best things about the hotel, in my opinion, is the ability to walk out the front door and walk to restaurants and even the river. The train and kiosks that book rafting and jeeping tours create the ability to not have to drive at all while in Durango.
Thanks, again
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the General Palmer Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it. It is located immediately next to the Durango station where the steam train to Silverton leaves each day. This is a real bonus and means you don't need to pay to park to go on the train. As trains only leave and return once a day being next to the station is not a problem.

The whole hotel is very quaint - from the lovely entrance, to the ancient 'elevator', to the beautiful lobby and breakfast room - plus the balcony overlooking the station. Our room was a little cramped - partly because of all the lovely old furniture. It was comfortable, but just a little on the small side for us as we had luggage for a two week touring holiday.

Breakfast very nice and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Homemade cookies in the lobby on arrival - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear "skywalker047
I really appreciate you leaving a review regarding your stay with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time here in Durango. I just love this town, especially since there are so many wonderful activities to take part in. Let me know if I can make future suggestions in this regards for any future trips to Durango, and hopefully the General Palmer Hotel.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Reccomended by others, but overrated in my opinion. Great location for town walking, but not a good value. Air didn't work well, but bathrooms were nice. At least I can say "been there"! Not again. This 200 character thing is killing me!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, Front Office Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Rolltide

We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the General Palmer Hotel. We appreciate your comments and value your opinions. We realize that our style of Hotel isn't for everyone, thank you for trying us on for size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the General Palmer Hotel twice this summer as a local "staycation" and both times I was amazed at the beauty, charm, and comfort of this four-diamond historic property. The rooms are very clean and every detail is perfect - shelves in bathroom, robes, coffee maker. Though the property is historic, the rooms are up to date and the beds are very comfortable and new. A favorite luxury is the room service breakfast. You can choose your free breakfast from the room service list and have it delivered at the time you choose the next morning...a decadent luxury at no extra cost. All the restaurants and shops in town are within an easy walking distance, so you can leave your car in the hotel's free lot and enjoy everything Durango has to offer. Nice to have a glass of wine with dinner since we could walk back to the hotel. Staff is so incredibly friendly and helpful. Looking forward to another getaway stay soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Dionne
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer. We really enjoy having you stay with us though out the summer, looking forward to seeing you come next spring time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.