We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This historic hotel is very comfortable from the moment you enter. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little small by today's standards, but they are beautifully furnished
and the bed is very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor facing the main street of town and on
Sat. night the noise from the people leaving the bars was a little bothersome, but it only lasted
a short time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusitala10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear "Tusitala10"
I was so happy to hear of your stay with us at the General Palmer, knowing that you enjoyed yourself and found the hotel to your liking means everything to us.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodland Park
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staff were friendly and over the top helpful from my first contact making a reservation to my check out. The room was beautifully appointed and beyond clean...it was immaculate with beautiful dark wood furnishings, full length mirror, and elegant bathroom fixtures. I had friends staying in a different hotel in town and they waited for me in the lobby of the General Palmer...it was so nice, and we sat for over an hour visiting since it was as comfortable as my own living room. Ice water, cookies and coffee were available to guests in the lobby, which was very convenient and a real treat while I visited with my friends. Breakfast buffet was elegantly presented with china and real silverware. Location is in the middle of town, which is convenient to walk to all the restaurants/shops, yet the hotel itself was very quiet. In short, I loved it at the General Palmer and will be back for sure as it was one of my best hotel experiences in a LONG time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear "squirtmouse"
Thank you so very much for your review of your stay at the General Palmer hotel. I truly appreciate the accolades and happy to hear we could make your stay with us so memorable.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were greeted by the bellman when we arrived and he was very helpful with questions about Durango. We were in room 301 with a view of main street. The room was very comfortable and spacious. If you are not good with stairs I would request a room on a lower floor as the original elevator is a neat experience but its very small. We stayed here for 2 nights and loved being right in the heart of town. The train is just a few steps from the front door and very convenient. The rooms are very clean and include an array of nice amenities. There was a pitcher and glasses for water, coffee maker, ice bucket and wine glasses with opener. A CD player in the room was a nice touch along with the free wifi. The breakfast was good and plentiful with a good array of food choices. We enjoyed out stay and when in town would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Julie
You guys are awesome! I passed on your review to "our bellman", I told him personally how you appreciated his help, all our guys are just the best, so sweet and so willing to help.
Thank you again.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First time business traveler at the General Palmer and it was perfect for me.
Staff from reservations to check in to check out were terrific. The room was spotless (I really like clean) and well appointed with antiques.
Breakfast was just a little weak with the packaged eggs and no fruit, but otherwise very good.
I had a business meeting in the "living room" just by the lobby and that was quiet and perfect to for business.

Downtown, quiet, great service, clean--tough to beat.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear, "azpoet"
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the General Palmer Hotel. Our housekeeping staff truly takes great pride in what they do, so it will be nice to be able to pass on the kudos to them.
Thank you so much!
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stay here whenever in town for the train, which is usually 2 to three times a year. The rooms are always very clean and we love the atmosphere and great location on main street. Parking is great as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcfjeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear jcfjeemo, Thank you for your review, and thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home. All of us at the General Palmer love what we do and we always thrilled to hear we have done well.
Thank you, again, so much
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Arrived at the General Palmer on Monday 6-3-13 a little early and was advised by the teenage bellman in the parking lot to go ahead and park because our room was ready. We pulled into the parking space and the bellman was on us for our luggage. We told him that we would carry our own luggage in and he refused to accept that answer and rudely said that we could not carry our own luggage in. This teenage bellman took our luggage and when we arrived at the check in desk the girl at the front desk, either Hanna or Nancy, told us and the bellman that our room was not ready. The bellman disappeared for a few minutes and then we were told the room was ready. We then went up to the third floor and entered our room after tipping the bellman. We then heard a knock on the door and were told by the maid that she had to clean the room and she started vacuuming. This was totally unacceptable and I went to the front desk demanding to speak with a manager. Paula Nelson heard me and came out of her office. I explained what had happened about first being told by the bellman that our room was ready and then told by the front desk clerk that it was not ready and mysteriously after a few minutes it was ready and then after we entered the room the maid showed up to clean the room. The only answer Paula Nelson could give was sorry. Come on, its obvious that the bellman only told us the room was ready was so he could get his tip for carrying our luggage that we wanted to carry in the first place. General Palmer is suppose to be a first class hotel but this is more like motel 6. Checked out and stayed at the Strater Hotel down the street. Much classier and more onsite amenities. And by the way as I was leaving I saw the teenage bellman in the hallway and asked for my tip money back and he said " no way man." I had to laugh as this young kid has a scam going on.!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Kristi99
Again I do sincerely apologize for the miscommunication, However I am happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Durango, it is simply an amazing little town. As a Town we have so much to offer each and every traveler.
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the General Palmer Hotel it is truly how we grow and learn of our guests expectations.
Thank you again, Paula Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, wish it was longer. The hotel was decorated in an old west Victorian style. It had an old fashioned tiny cage elevator so I preferred the stairs. The room was spacious with 2 really comfie queen beds and a spacious bathroom with nice toiletries, hair dryer, separate double sinks from the toilet/shower area. Fresh home made cookies at noon. The only slight issue we had was that when we first turned on the water some rusty water poured out. We choose to have the staff provide us with a jug of water for drinking.
Location was excellent as you could walk around the scenic old town where there were tons of cute shops, great restaurants and neat statues. The silvery in railway was next to the hotel so very convenient and the views were breath taking. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was only a 15-20 minute drive to the airport. I would definitely stay here again and definitely visit Durango for longer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikesedonachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear "hikesedonachick"
I totally agree one day in Durango is simply not enough time to explore the diversity of shopping, hiking, rafting, museum viewing, etc. etc. I absolutely love Durango, I have been here 21 years and am still in love with it. You will just have to come back for another visit! Thank you too for your review of the General Palmer I am happy to hear that it was one of the highlights of your visit to Durango.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing