We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constantly nice stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Constantly nice stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stay here whenever in town for the train, which is usually 2 to three times a year. The rooms are always very clean and we love the atmosphere and great location on main street. Parking is great as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear jcfjeemo, Thank you for your review, and thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home. All of us at the General Palmer love what we do and we always thrilled to hear we have done well.
Thank you, again, so much
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
89
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Arrived at the General Palmer on Monday 6-3-13 a little early and was advised by the teenage bellman in the parking lot to go ahead and park because our room was ready. We pulled into the parking space and the bellman was on us for our luggage. We told him that we would carry our own luggage in and he refused to accept that answer and rudely said that we could not carry our own luggage in. This teenage bellman took our luggage and when we arrived at the check in desk the girl at the front desk, either Hanna or Nancy, told us and the bellman that our room was not ready. The bellman disappeared for a few minutes and then we were told the room was ready. We then went up to the third floor and entered our room after tipping the bellman. We then heard a knock on the door and were told by the maid that she had to clean the room and she started vacuuming. This was totally unacceptable and I went to the front desk demanding to speak with a manager. Paula Nelson heard me and came out of her office. I explained what had happened about first being told by the bellman that our room was ready and then told by the front desk clerk that it was not ready and mysteriously after a few minutes it was ready and then after we entered the room the maid showed up to clean the room. The only answer Paula Nelson could give was sorry. Come on, its obvious that the bellman only told us the room was ready was so he could get his tip for carrying our luggage that we wanted to carry in the first place. General Palmer is suppose to be a first class hotel but this is more like motel 6. Checked out and stayed at the Strater Hotel down the street. Much classier and more onsite amenities. And by the way as I was leaving I saw the teenage bellman in the hallway and asked for my tip money back and he said " no way man." I had to laugh as this young kid has a scam going on.!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Kristi99
Again I do sincerely apologize for the miscommunication, However I am happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your visit to Durango, it is simply an amazing little town. As a Town we have so much to offer each and every traveler.
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the General Palmer Hotel it is truly how we grow and learn of our guests expectations.
Thank you again, Paula Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed one night, wish it was longer. The hotel was decorated in an old west Victorian style. It had an old fashioned tiny cage elevator so I preferred the stairs. The room was spacious with 2 really comfie queen beds and a spacious bathroom with nice toiletries, hair dryer, separate double sinks from the toilet/shower area. Fresh home made cookies at noon. The only slight issue we had was that when we first turned on the water some rusty water poured out. We choose to have the staff provide us with a jug of water for drinking.
Location was excellent as you could walk around the scenic old town where there were tons of cute shops, great restaurants and neat statues. The silvery in railway was next to the hotel so very convenient and the views were breath taking. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was only a 15-20 minute drive to the airport. I would definitely stay here again and definitely visit Durango for longer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear "hikesedonachick"
I totally agree one day in Durango is simply not enough time to explore the diversity of shopping, hiking, rafting, museum viewing, etc. etc. I absolutely love Durango, I have been here 21 years and am still in love with it. You will just have to come back for another visit! Thank you too for your review of the General Palmer I am happy to hear that it was one of the highlights of your visit to Durango.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Room 205, Queen

The hotel has a great downtown location, especially for the well known train and
many shops and restaurants. Niceties abound: the old style elegance of the
building and the public areas; comfortable, inviting lounge/lobby area, wonderful
2nd floor open-air deck, long breakfast hours (6-10am) which includes the possibility
of in-room delivery of breakfast at no additional charge; noon check-out; friendly
staff; free on-site parking

The room was found to be very clean and comfortable; it is compact in size as is to be
expected in an old building yet the stay is enhanced by very good amenities
including: high-end toiletries, a free-standing make-up mirror, 2 suitcase stands,
plenty of lamps, complete coffee & wine service, a decent flat screen tv, a flashlight,
an extension cord, and good quality antique furniture and 2 robes. The room does not have a
microwave, refrigerator or safe.

Room Tip: Room 205 facing north was quiet and had an ok view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi "Devontheroad"
1st I wanted to thank you for writing a review regarding your stay here at the General Palmer. My staff is just amazing, from my point of view, they all work so hard to make everything so perfect for each and every guest. I am so pleased when they get to see that their care has been seen and appreciated.
Thank you again,
Cheers, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

All classic hotels that have been restored should use this as their model. Not only are you getting to experience what it was like to be in a hotel built at the turn of the century, you don't have to trade off comfort or quality. The service and experience has clearly been thought out and it adds so much to the guests' time at this grand hotel. Everything was clean, no matter how old the item might have been, and the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Good Morning "Wiley"
Thank you, Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote concerning your stay here at the General Palmer. i am happy to hear that you were so appreciative of the hard work that goes into making an older building into something beautiful and comfortable.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a gorgeous Victorian facility right in the middle of downtown Durango. This staff is friendly and helpful, but we had a serious temperature problem. It was too early in the season for the air conditioning to be one, and in fact, it was quite pleasant outside (in the 60's). However, we had a street-side room with large, unscreened windows, and when opened the traffic and noise outside was extremely loud. So we had to sleep with the ceiling fan on (which wobbled quite a bit), so unfortunately, our experience was not what I had hoped.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street if you want the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "Youngatheart"
Ah the woes of having a hotel in the downtown Historic district of Durango, I was very sorry to hear about the traffic noise. But I do thank you for staying with us, and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. I can't promise the traffic will go away but I can certainly place you in a quieter section of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, I do appreciate it, it is what helps us grow and change for the future.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I we're coming to Durango for a getaway for our anniversary. we got there on a Friday evening and the wonderful lady at the front desk had a room for us with a great rate. she also upgraded us for no extra charge and told us happy anniversary. the room was marvelous windows everywhere, a great bath, very clean. the service there was amazing and friendly. we would come down in the elevator a lot and they would always agreed it's as if it was the first time. the staff was amazing they sent up our breakfast with no hesitation and a smile at the door. this is one of those memories that will always stick and we will be coming back for years:) Rebarchik Family-

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "crebarchik"
I was so pleased to read your review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. You make me so very proud of my staff in your review, they truly are what makes this hotel what it is. Each and everyone of them is a gem and truly enjoy what they do here at the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.