We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility, watch the temperature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely facility, watch the temperature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a gorgeous Victorian facility right in the middle of downtown Durango. This staff is friendly and helpful, but we had a serious temperature problem. It was too early in the season for the air conditioning to be one, and in fact, it was quite pleasant outside (in the 60's). However, we had a street-side room with large, unscreened windows, and when opened the traffic and noise outside was extremely loud. So we had to sleep with the ceiling fan on (which wobbled quite a bit), so unfortunately, our experience was not what I had hoped.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street if you want the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "Youngatheart"
Ah the woes of having a hotel in the downtown Historic district of Durango, I was very sorry to hear about the traffic noise. But I do thank you for staying with us, and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. I can't promise the traffic will go away but I can certainly place you in a quieter section of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, I do appreciate it, it is what helps us grow and change for the future.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    62
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
99
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I we're coming to Durango for a getaway for our anniversary. we got there on a Friday evening and the wonderful lady at the front desk had a room for us with a great rate. she also upgraded us for no extra charge and told us happy anniversary. the room was marvelous windows everywhere, a great bath, very clean. the service there was amazing and friendly. we would come down in the elevator a lot and they would always agreed it's as if it was the first time. the staff was amazing they sent up our breakfast with no hesitation and a smile at the door. this is one of those memories that will always stick and we will be coming back for years:) Rebarchik Family-

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "crebarchik"
I was so pleased to read your review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. You make me so very proud of my staff in your review, they truly are what makes this hotel what it is. Each and everyone of them is a gem and truly enjoy what they do here at the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently brought a tour group of 13 to Durango and we stayed at the General Palmer. The customer service is simply the best! The decor of the hotel's lobby and other public rooms, as well as the guest rooms, is extremely charming and the central location makes walking everywhere a pleasure. We could not have had a better experience in every way! If you want a hotel with historic atmosphere, fantastic staff and an unbeatable location, the General Palmer is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have windows to the outside. If that is important to you, be sure to reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi "NatureQuest"
We absolutely loved having you and your group stay with us, such a great treat! Your guests were all so wonderful and you could tell they truly enjoyed their "Nature Quest" experience. There was such an aire of anticipation. Great planning on your part!
Thanks again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just recently stayed at the General Palmer while on a college visit trip. This old hotel has great charm, and is in a super location within walking distance to everything, and Starbucks is right across the street. Front desk was very nice and answered any of our travel/logistics questions. One young man actually was a college student at Fort Lewis College where my daughter was accepted, and it was nice to get an inside view on the college, town etc. We stayed in the annex which was no problem for us with the stairs as we can handle that kind of situation, and we had the two room suite. It was really big and gave us lots of room and privacy for our daughter. Only complaint is that bathroom is quite small....but it's an old hotel, so we cut it some slack. breakfast was nice, but I always wish that the coffee was stronger in the comp breakfast rooms, but I guess they can't adjust their coffee just for me:-) All in all, a nice, quiet stay, where we could roam the main street of historic durango and have plenty of room to stretch out afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi "Paula W"
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the General Palmer Hotel. I really love living in Durango and working at the hotel. We have such a lovely community filled with such diversity and in part I owe that to our little college. I think it keeps us all nice and young. Thank you so much for staying with us and I am glad to hear that the Annex worked well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is perfect for a trip to Durango if you want to experience some old victorian charm. It is perfectly located on Main Avenue and if you request a room with a window out the back side you can see the Durango-Silverton railroad. It is one of the few hotels in the US i have been to were you can drink your coffee out of real china and you can use real silverware instead of plastic! The only drawback for me was the breakfast: I realy love a diversified breakfast and thats definitely not what you get here, but we knew in advance and so it was no real trouble for us (besides my wife loved the breakfast.....).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you "Gert B" for writing a review of your stay at the General Palmer hotel. Yes the location is such a plus while staying in Durango. Sometimes visitors come to our area without a vehicle and it is nice to stay where you don't really need one. Though we have had china for many years we just recently acquired the ones you got to experience glad to hear you enjoyed our choice.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The General Palmer Hotel is set in the late 1880's. The furniture is as if from another time period. The rooms are period decor. We enjoyed the ample space. But our bed was really hard and heater was finally figured out around 3am. I sleep sparingly, remained chilly all morning. The views were stunning from our room. The Hotel is centrally located to down town with is great. We such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Amy:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the General Palmer Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us, overall! I apologize for the heating system, ugh, old buildings! A note of encouragement is that we are always on the move updating and redecorating.
Cheers, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We reserved a room at the last minute and the rate we got for a Saturday night was great. The hotel was full of old victorian charm. The room was semi small, but set up nicely. Location is right on Main Street and within walking distance to it all. Very nice for a last minute decision.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Krickettlove:
Thank you for your wonderful review of the General Palmer Hotel. I agree the rooms are smaller than at a more conventional Hotel, but we are hoping we make up for that with Service. Thank you again,
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.