We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Antique But Up To Date and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Looks Antique But Up To Date and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a charming well located hotel. Everything is an easy walk away. Serves breakfast with the room and the adjoining restaurant is also very good. We had a three bedroom suite BUT one bathroom. Also one bedroom is open to all so sleep in your underwear. The hotel is nexdt to the train station so you can greet the morning and afternoon train. The train museum is fun too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you "Ralph" for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at the General Palmer. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! You will have to come back again, we are remodeling about 8 rooms and they will be absolutely stunning. All new plumbing, bathrooms, furnishing, etc. I can't wait to see the finished product.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    62
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place was wonderful, a great value and AAA four star rated! Only one complaint; bed was too soft, which is no small thing, should be replaced. Hotel is in the midst of great restaurants and shps. Train station is one block away! Beautiful place. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello John, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I really do appreciate it. Thank you for letting me know about the bed, sometimes we don't know unless a guest tells us. We can't wait for the train to start up again, we actually realized we miss the morning whistle.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We liked it! Had a suite that overlooked the comings and goings of the Silverton train. Easy check in. Helpful staff. Centrally located to all things downtown Durango or the the highway access to Purgatory or Mesa Verde. Outside of the train in the morning and evening, it was quiet and restful. It is a bit pricey for a suite but sometimes you gotta splurge.

Besides it was the atmosphere we're experiencing... better than a coockie cutter chain motel.

Room Tip: Go for the outside rooms. Inside ones do not have windows... Its an old hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
So wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the General Palmer, Durango is such a wonderful town to visit and we hope you choose to do so again soon.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent the worst night of our lives here at this hotel. The bed was touted to be a queen size bed, which we sleep in comfortably every night at home. It was either just a double bed, or, the significant sag in the middle of the bed caused my husband to sink into the middle of the bed giving me no room. This is not hubby's fault as he tried all night to stay on his side, but kept sinking into the middle. I'm a 56 year old woman and haven't slept on the floor in many years. If it wasn't for the fact that I'd have to sleep on hotel carpet, I would have slept on the floor.

The next morning I told the girl at the front desk about my horrible night. She apologized, but I could tell she was just being polite. She didn't really mean it. I asked for the manager, she was out. I asked that the manager call me... no one ever called me.

The lobby is charming. The room was clean enough. The location -- perfect. It wouldn't take much to tack that wallpaper back onto the wall, but that was mminor. Thus, I'm not giving it even fewer stars. But is it too much to ask for a good night's sleep?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I would like to take a moment and apologize for your mistreatment at our hotel. Thank you for letting me know of your dissatisfaction during your stay! We strive to do our best all times, and I am taking to heart what you have said and will certainly address the issues you have pointed out.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

In checking in the front desk clerk was not friendly at all and provided poor customer service. Our room was ready bt check in time but otherd were not and she called someone on staff asking why not in front of the guests checking in and said that the manager was going to be mad! The young man that helped with the luggage was very nice. Room was small but nice. Parking and location is great. Breakfast is ik. The other front desk clerk...name tag said manager was helpful and friendly with great ideas. The first one never even thanked us when we checked out or looked up from the computer to acknowlege guests standing there. Nice hotel. Could do so much more for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of The General Palmer Hotel, I always appreciate hearing about our guests have been treated during their stay at our hotel. It is how I can improve upon our customer service skills. Thank you, again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport,Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My Wife and myself stayed at the Palmer House early Sept. we really enjoyed ourselfs,the people were very very nice and helpful, the breakfast was very good,the young man who layed it out did a great job. the room was very cozey.

Room Tip: Take the hint, treat youself to a nice treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I have been able to upgrade the breakfast a bit, added the much needed protein! Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Charming is just a start with the General Palmer. Beautifully preserved, yet nicely modernized, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Also very handy to the shopping, restaurants and bars. Nicely done all around and a very friendly, helpful staff. Avoid Labor Daynweekend if you don't care for motorcycles!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Ah yes, the motorcycles! They can to some degree detract from what visitors might be hoping for when they visit Durango. Normally we are a very quite though active tourist community, but Labor day weekend is completely different from that norm. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.