We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character and history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel with character and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in the General Palmer Hotel in January 2012 with my family. Fabulous hotel, very comfortable beds, great staff, period decor and in an excellent location in Durango. Coming from Australia we were excited to be in Durango with the historic buildings and other attractions. We found the locals very friendly and helpful, a great place for a stopover when touring Colorado.

Could not recommend the General Palmer Hotel high enough. Will definitely stay in this hotel when we return next time.

Room Tip: As we were travelling with our adult children it was great to have individual rooms each with own TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Can't thank you enough for the wonderful review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. We all work very hard to help our guests enjoy the hotel and Durango, I am glad to hear that we have succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    77
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
130
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great Old West Victorian style hotel and attention to detail carries the theme through. It was a fun stay and nice to be next to the train yard. Very fun. On the downside, it is noisy (I am a light sleeper) and the breakfast was nothing to get excited about, but was good enough. Staff was friendly and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review, we sincerely appreciate this and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Planned only one night, but it was such a good location and overall experience that we stayed a second night. Room 206 was a bit small, but #307 was big and beautiful. Fun balcony. Close to Main Street and train depot. Well run, friendly. Would stay again, in fact I look forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms. Some have windows and some interior rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you Bob for your glowing review of the General Palmer Hotel. Our entire staff is dedicated to helping you have the best vacation ever. Glad that we were a part of making that happen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beautifully done, lovely comfortable beds. We stayed in room 206 for three nights in June. We could see the old steam trains go by in the morning and return at night, as we had a lovely view from our room as we had two very big windows. The only thing that let this great quality hotel down was the inferior breakfast. |Not what you would expect from a quality hotel such as this one. There was a couple of breakfast cereals, fruit loaf, muffins, waffles, jams,yoghurt, but no bread, boiled eggs, or fruit salad which is a shame really. Apart from that there you could not fault the place. So central for the durango railway, which we went on to silverton. The station is almost next door to the hotel which is great after a full day out on the train, & on return a cup of hotels lovely coffee which was always on offer. We would definately highly recommend this hotel & if in the area would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: great views of steam trains from room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hotel is beautiful, I was so happy to stay there, but do not get room 302, because there is a skylight window in the ceiling, and there is stain glass top window on top of the door. The light comes in at night into the room, from the stainglass window in the door, from the light in the hallway, they keep it on all night, and in the morning, the room lights up with the sun rise. Also, there is a connecting room that you can hear everything they are doing, the door is in that room. Other than that, this room is only for one person, it is a murphy bed full, and one person had to sleep on the floor. These hotels are super nice, and the people are super nice, but next time I rent in a hotel like this, I will ask more about these rooms. Because the problem is that they are older hotels, so all their rooms are not the same, and that is one thing when renting older hotels like these, the traveler should look out for. But I still fell lucky to have stayed in this landmark hotel. And, Durango, is a beautiful town. If you get a change to go to the Pagosa SPrings Resort, one hour away, it is so nice there, and also in Silverton go to see the Mine. I love Durango.

Room Tip: Check which room you are going to stay, all the rooms in these older hotels are not the same, the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review on your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. Actually I believe the room you stayed in was room number 311, it does have a skylight and one full sized Murphy style bed, with a transom window over the door. We are in the process of re=thinking the transom windows possibly adding a curtain or shade that our guests may choose to draw closed. We love getting all reviews as it helps us to address necessary changes.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Going to Durango I wanted to be able to experience that old western atmosphere and the General Palmer does just that! Small enough to be comfortable and the moment you step in you can picture yourself back in the 1880's. Continental breakfast was good too. If your looking for a nice up to date bed with the modern amenities and comfort then don't go here, you shouldn't be expecting some sleep number mattress. A MUST STAY! Also in a can't beat location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just returned from a road trip in which we stayed in Durango for 2 nights at the General Palmer. I am not one to stay at or enjoy older hotels, however, this place is wonderful. We checked in late and were no sure what we were getting as 2 other hotels we stopped at were booked. We were pleasantly surprised especially for the value price. Now this hotel is over 100 years old- so the layout and room sizes reflect this. We had an interior room which was very small- I think the exterior rooms are larger- but this was no big deal. Everything from the teddy bear on the bed, the linens, the fine china at the breakfast, the antique lamps and decor...were wonderful. I was surprised how quite it was most likely because this is not a family type place so no kids running the halls or slamming doors. The overall location is perfect in walking distance to all shops and eats. While this is not generally my type of place- I loved it and I will be back!

Room Tip: Exterior are larger than interior. Elevator out the whole stay so lower room may be better if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is nice to know that we have helped our guests to enjoy their stay at the hotel and in Durango.
Cheers, Paula

Paula N. Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.