We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Booked President's Suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Double Booked President's Suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My friend and I went to Durango last weekend mainly to stay in the Presidential Suite that he had reserved and had the confirmation sheet to prove it. We arrive to find that it had been
double booked and were given another reservation that was made by the General Manager
herself in a regular queensize room. We were NEVER notified of this change and she was no
where to be found ..and it was a weekend. We waited a very long time and decided to take the queen room being we were tired but very disappointed.
Bad move on GM's part and found the absence of any superior dysfunctional. Did she think we would just say "Oh OK"? She finally returned the frontdesk's desperate call the last day to ok free room as compensation.......

Room Tip: Presidential Suite if they don't double book it and you get in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
107
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Location is great and staff was very friendly. The hotel is decorated quite nicely and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are stocked with the little items you sometimes forget when traveling which was very nice. The cookies in the lobby are a great treat. The only drawback was the tiny little elevator. It adds to the charm but it can bet quite tricky manuvering in and out of there with a suitcase!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Location is great on Main and within a block of the train station, free parking & the restaurants & shops are all within walking distance. Our room had a murphy pull down bed although not sure why since there would have been adequate room for a full or queen size bed. Very awkward placement of the TV on a cabinet next to the bed. No drawer space to unpack suitcase although there was adequate space to hang items in closet. We were awakened each AM by the train horn blasting and the signal. Mini Keurig coffee pot in room but housekeeping did not resupply. What I noticed since our last visit was that staff were not as friendly and seemed put out by a request by another guest for hot water at the guest coffee/tea station. Overall due to location we would stay here again, but not in this room (314). One caution - the water at the bathroom sink and shower becomes extremely hot very quickly.

Room Tip: We were on the south side previously and it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Booked the Family Suite (Rm 257) for 2 nights for my family: myself, husband and 2 adult kids. The suite is actually 3 rooms: the main room has a queen bed with table, 2 chairs, coffee maker but no storage; the other 2 have full beds so that a maximum of 6 people could stay and have a large closet/large dressor. All rooms had a flat screen TV. The cost was very reasonable with a AAA discount, especially when you factor in the all-you-can-eat continental breakfast.

Wonderful ambience with the Victorian wallpaper and furniture. Large windows to overlook Main St with pullshades that block the streetlamps at night. The hotel does provide wonderful cookies in the afternoon and evening with tea/coffee. Continental breakfast was good but as 1 previous reviewer noted, the staff can be slightly slow in replenishing the warm breads (waffle on one day, biscuits another, always with muffins)--but there was always yogurt, granola, oatmeal, juice, coffee/tea, bread to make toast available.

The location can't be beat to catch the Durango-Silverton train. I did not find the train whistle bothersome. All the wonderful restaurants, bars are easy walking distance. The only downside that might be found with the family suite is that there is only 1 bathroom and inadequate counter space for toiletries beyond 1 person. Problem solved by making agreements as to who got the bathroom first, second...

Room Tip: Claustrophobic people should not ride the antique elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a corner suite overlooking the train station area and stayed three days. Comfortable bed and the room had nice old timey decorations. The cleaning staff did an excellent job each day. Good WiFi in our room, however the signal was spotty in other parts of the hotel. The continental breakfast was filling but a bit disappointing as there was no fruit. The hotel location is perfect as it's in a good location within the historic district. From the hotel you can walk to the river walk, narrow gage train station, numerous restaurants and bars, theatre both legit and movie. The hotel is quiet other than for the 8AM or so train whistles which are part of the adventure. Actually, you'd hear the whistle anywhere in the downtown area! Free parking right at the hotel is a major plus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Right next to all tourist activities and restaurants this a gem. Great Victorian style rooms and nice breakfast. It's a part if Durango and American railroad history.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The General Palmer is overrated. On one of our trips to Durango we opted to stay here instead of the Strater. Big mistake!

Our room was unacceptable. Looked like something from the '70's. Small and no ambience. The exterior and lobby is exceptional, but our room was not what we expected from an "historic" hotel. We'll stay at the Strater in October - our choice of room is already confirmed.

Most disappointing. Will never stay THERE again.

J.T.
Houston

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.