We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian and convienient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Durango
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Victorian and convienient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the General Palmer Hotel for three nights. It was in a very convienient location. The main building was a beautiful Victorian gem. As a splurge we reserved a king bed room which was in an adjacent building - the Palace building. The room was also done in a Victorian style with modern updates in the bathroom. There was also the addition of a wall mounted air conditioning unit - but it never really put out what I would call cold air - and having lived in San Antonio on and off for the last 20 years I am in to air conditioning. Fortunately there was also a ceiling fan and that stayed on high speed the whole time we were there! The bed was super comfortable although it was very high - I guess that's a Victorian "thing" - but being short, it was difficult for me to get up on that bed. I felt like I had to back up a couple of feet and take a running leap to get up on it....maybe a small set of steps?!? The free continental breakfast was passable - the coffee was good - very important since all these tour groups want to pick you up at 8:00 am. The front desk personnel were always helpful - we forgot to fill up our water containers one morning - and the woman behind the desk took them to the back and filled them for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    56
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
88
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the tail end of our trip through Colorado. We chose it over the seemingly popular Strater Hotel due to its fairly reasonable price, reviews indicating a quieter night’s sleep, and inclusive breakfast. On the plus side, the General Palmer is conveniently located near the railroad museum and only a couple blocks of a walk, if that, to quaint bars and restaurants. On the not-so-plus-side, this hotel could use some upgrades on customer service. We paid more for our room here than at the posh luxury condominium/hotel we rented in Telluride and so expected excellent service. While the check-in staff was courteous and friendly, we had a not so impressive experience with the staff the morning of our complimentary breakfast. The check-in staff indicated that breakfast would be served from I think it was 6:00 am to 10:00 pm. We arrived in the communal dining area at 8:45 to find only stale oatmeal, no bread or bagels, an empty coffee pot, and no gravy for the few hardened biscuits camping out in the hotel pan. With no wait staff in sight, my husband ventured to the lobby to inform the desk clerk of the absence of breakfast fare. He was met with less than a friendly, apologetic, nor accommodating attitude. I think he said, “She’s doing the best she can.” This may have been true, but it I believe this isn’t an acceptable response to a failed delivery of a promised, and paid for, amenity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The General Palmer Hotel is a great place! Staff are courteous, rooms are very clean and the hotel is located ideally in the heart of downtown Durango within easy walking distance of just about everything! Also, the lobby and furnishings throughout are great!
The only that could stand a bit of improvement would be the selections available of the continental breakfast provided - just a few more things (like fresh fruit) would make it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willcox, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed two nights. The place was immaculately clean, presented well, the staff could not have been more accomodating. We would most certainly stay there again!! Five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the General Palmer Hotel earlier this week and were pleasantly surprised. I don't normally enjoy older "period" hotels but this was comfortable, very well-appointed, and immaculate.

The only room for us was in the "other building" next to the train station. I was originally dismayed after reading some of the reviews but the room was just fine. The train noise might be a deal-breaker for some but it inspired us to get out of bed and start our day. There is a lovely continental breakfast with muffins, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and oatmeal.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is centrally located. My only complaint is the lack of hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle,Tx
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed at both hotels two times each.

They are one block apart so there is no difference in location.

Which one should yo9u stay t ? That depends upon what is important to you.

For me....I like the air conditioner to work really well.
And I like a real parking lot that is hassle free.
The General Palmer has both of those.

Parking at the Strater is a royal pain in the rear and I AC is not up to par at all.

Those two things way heavily in my decision making. Thus, I will never stay at the Strater Hotel again.

I have been in Durango now 4 days and I have gone to the Strater Hotel every night for drinks and entertainment.. I love the music and food.

The G. Palmer must have teh worlds smallest elevator in the world. Old people do nto like this elevator. I can assure you of that.

The Strater Hotel has a much better breakfast. The G Palmers is worse in my opinion that a Motel 8.

Both are pricey....so no real difference there either.

The G.Palmer has no entertainment....which is no big deal to me. I like the AC and the Parking.

Front desk staff is nice at both places. Housekeeping does a great job too.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I really wanted to love this hotel, but I didn't right from the beginning of our stay. We booked (and paid for) a room with a queen size bed, but were put in a room with a double bed. That would have been okay with us if we had gotten charged for the double. Instead, the not-so-friendly girl at the front desk insisted that we were in a room with a queen size bed. I'm not blind -- and this was no queen size bed! We were informed that this was the only room available so we kept the room, but were charged the higher price! If I ever stay there again, I'll bring a tape measure along! Best part of the hotel is the aroma from the afternoon home made chocolate chip cookies that are put out for everyone to enjoy!

Room Tip: Bring a tape measure to prove to front desk person what size your bed is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.