We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River

Animas River
Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing, White-water rafting
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A wonderful river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed following the Animas River along the Durango Silverton train tracks and walking along the paved River Trail in Durango. This is a scenic fast-moving river with broad flat places and steep narrow gorges. The river is used by kayakers and river float trips and others who just want to be on the water. During snow melt season it boasts some Class V Rapids that even the pros respect.
We recommend the River Trail as it's a good place for land lubbers to be near the water without getting wet.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved zip lining over the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

While visiting Durango we saw much of the river in different locations. Next visit will definitely have to go on a raft. Saw people rafting from the train, looked Ike fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to Durango for my Mom's 70th birthday and did the water rafting on a whim. We were really not expecting too much. Let me tell you that we had a BLAST. It actually was the best part of the trip for me. Mild to Wild had excellent customer service and were very helpful. The process seemed a little unorganized at first but I think that was because it was all new to us. Our guide was Nick and we really lucked out with him. He was very informative about the river and its history. He was polite and funny and made us feel safe on the river. I felt he was very professional and was a true Guide!! They have the option of wearing a wet suit but we decided not to at the last minute. Although the water is very cold, if it is a hot day then it feels really good. I would consider wearing one if it is a real cloudy day or on the cooler side. Would use them again in a heart beat! Mom had a fabulous birthday thanks so Mild to Wild!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rafting on the Animas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Mild to Wild Raft company-guide Hannah! Awesome day! Highly recommend. Great lunch provided during the whole day trip as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My daughter and I went white water rafting on the river which is gorgeous. We followed it up the next day by renting bikes in town and riding along the bike trail along the river for a couple of hours. There are great spots to stop along the way to take pictures or even have lunch. Keep in mind that for every downhill part of the trail, there is an uphill to get back and we had to walk our bikes every once in a while!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.