We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to walk the River- summer or winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River

Animas River
Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 53 things to do in Durango
Activities: Fishing, White-water rafting
Attraction details
arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love to walk the River- summer or winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Animas river trail is such a treat. We enjoy staying in lodging on the river to enjoy the beauty, watch the rafters and folks out enjoying Durango. You can run, walk, and bike. There's even a skate board park. The view and scenery is breathtaking any time of year. All the stress melts away as you enjoy the beauty!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    23
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“must do raft or kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

this is the first time my daughter and I kayaked, the mild to wild rafting group was well above average. we kayaked with our guide not only did he take care of us he told us alot of history of some of the different areas of Durango. We took the train ride up to Soaring. and the river was out of this world. cutting through the mountain. the class 4 and 5 rapids. breath taking

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Save your money - go in an innertube!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Rafting in Durango right now is a joke - the water is too low. My girls (8 and 10) were bored silly. Save your money - you don't need a guide. Just go in an innertube and you won't get stuck as often!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“water low”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

rafting in blow up kayaks (duckies) was a blast. End of July water low lots of rocks. Would be great earlir in season

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

No rafting, kayaking, or swift water adventure. Just a nice after-dinner walk along the river at sunset. Very relaxing. Stop by the little skate park, watch the local skateboarders and wish you were 16 again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.