We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trail for a bit of exercise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice trail for a bit of exercise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

For a change of pace during our SW road trip, we rented bikes (at Pedal the Peaks, they were super nice & efficient) and rode almost to the end of the trail & back from near Albertson's. It's was lovely, safe and easy to follow the trail. We were in the area to visit Mesa Verde NP but we loved Durango and ended up spending an extra day in the area. Afterward, we went rafting with Durango Rafting, which was also tons of fun.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    32
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

enjoyed running and biking the trail right along the river. Lots of shade and nice views. Historical markers on the trail were fun to stop and read.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bike it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a tree-lined, 6-mile path along the Animas River. It is so awesome. There are many restaurants and attractions to stop at on your journey. For extra fun, you can rent bikes (we used Mile High Rentals which is close to the path). This was a highlight of our trip in Durango.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Running/Biking Path, withvery few users”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fantastic, paved path to run or bike while in Durango, close to hotels. Eight miles each way, beside the river. Beautiful, and mild terrain for a run (lung buster at 6,500 feet).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great walk discovered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We parked the car in the Albertson's lot near the river walk and walked south to Santa Rita Park. We brought a picnic lunch and sat upon the rocks near Smelter rapids watching raft boats, kayaks, and tubers float by. It was a delightful way to spend an afternoon. The walk is mostly paved and very easy to navigate.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.