We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Running/Biking Path, withvery few users” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Running/Biking Path, withvery few users”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fantastic, paved path to run or bike while in Durango, close to hotels. Eight miles each way, beside the river. Beautiful, and mild terrain for a run (lung buster at 6,500 feet).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    34
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great walk discovered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We parked the car in the Albertson's lot near the river walk and walked south to Santa Rita Park. We brought a picnic lunch and sat upon the rocks near Smelter rapids watching raft boats, kayaks, and tubers float by. It was a delightful way to spend an afternoon. The walk is mostly paved and very easy to navigate.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A beautiful hike along the river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We entered this seven-mle trail at 32nd Street behind City Market. They are making repairs here but the trail is accessible. It is lovely to stroll along the paved trail, watching the rushing Animas River and the rafters. There are many parks and picnic tables along the way. There are several access places for rafters. The trail is lit at night with tall street lights. Our favorite section is beteeen the fish hatchery and Rotary Park. Here live a few deer that are very tame and used to hikers. We do not invade their territory, and they just watch us curiously while munching on leaves. The trail is quite close to the Durango/Silverton train and you can watch it roll down the tracks if you are on the trail during its morning or evening run. This is a high-use trail, and it is understandable why people love it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Biking the Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our Family Biked this trail twice while in Durango. We loved seeing our the rafters on the River and the sites along the way. Being able to ride next to the river and the brian tracks was awesome. I suggest riding/walking along the trail early in the morning (8am) or around 5pm so that you can see the Train. Cbb ice cream was a nice organic treat. We loved everything that this trail had to offer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice paved trail along the beautiful Animas River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Really enjoyed this nice River Walk after dinner one evening. It's clean and we felt safe. Enjoyed being right on the water and watching some river rafters coming through. There are lots of places to enter the trail and also the river. The trail is paved and has both stairs and ramps for wheelchair and bike entrances. The inclines are gradual and one is free to walk at their own pace and enjoy the beautiful river. Lots of people with friendly dogs and many on bikes as well.
In the short distance we walked along the trail, we did not notice restroom facilities and we assumed the parking was in the lots along the trail belonging to the businesses there. Lots of green and a feeling of an oasis.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.