We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hike along the river!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
phoenix
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A beautiful hike along the river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We entered this seven-mle trail at 32nd Street behind City Market. They are making repairs here but the trail is accessible. It is lovely to stroll along the paved trail, watching the rushing Animas River and the rafters. There are many parks and picnic tables along the way. There are several access places for rafters. The trail is lit at night with tall street lights. Our favorite section is beteeen the fish hatchery and Rotary Park. Here live a few deer that are very tame and used to hikers. We do not invade their territory, and they just watch us curiously while munching on leaves. The trail is quite close to the Durango/Silverton train and you can watch it roll down the tracks if you are on the trail during its morning or evening run. This is a high-use trail, and it is understandable why people love it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    29
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Biking the Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our Family Biked this trail twice while in Durango. We loved seeing our the rafters on the River and the sites along the way. Being able to ride next to the river and the brian tracks was awesome. I suggest riding/walking along the trail early in the morning (8am) or around 5pm so that you can see the Train. Cbb ice cream was a nice organic treat. We loved everything that this trail had to offer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Nice paved trail along the beautiful Animas River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Really enjoyed this nice River Walk after dinner one evening. It's clean and we felt safe. Enjoyed being right on the water and watching some river rafters coming through. There are lots of places to enter the trail and also the river. The trail is paved and has both stairs and ramps for wheelchair and bike entrances. The inclines are gradual and one is free to walk at their own pace and enjoy the beautiful river. Lots of people with friendly dogs and many on bikes as well.
In the short distance we walked along the trail, we did not notice restroom facilities and we assumed the parking was in the lots along the trail belonging to the businesses there. Lots of green and a feeling of an oasis.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You can go for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful for biking, and walking. You can get on this trail many places throughout Durango, and get off as well. Part winds through the edge of downtown, part goes through the newer area, to the South East, and part north. We biked from the Home Depot one day, going North, and another day started downtown and headed out. Every town should have this type of attraction.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paved trail, great for casual bike riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Running generally along the river, this paved trail passes a variety of town, park and open areas. There are nicely landscaped sections and the town seems to be actively upgrading the trail. So, when we were there, several short sections were being rebuilt. In some areas there is very nice landscaping and some art. Great way to see the river, and the rafters. In some parts it runs along the Durango & Silverton railroad tracks, so pay attention. Good place to see the trains if you know the times. Be aware that this is not a flat path, and often has uphill stretches. You should bring water or get drinks along the way in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.