We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice paved trail along the beautiful Animas River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice paved trail along the beautiful Animas River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Really enjoyed this nice River Walk after dinner one evening. It's clean and we felt safe. Enjoyed being right on the water and watching some river rafters coming through. There are lots of places to enter the trail and also the river. The trail is paved and has both stairs and ramps for wheelchair and bike entrances. The inclines are gradual and one is free to walk at their own pace and enjoy the beautiful river. Lots of people with friendly dogs and many on bikes as well.
In the short distance we walked along the trail, we did not notice restroom facilities and we assumed the parking was in the lots along the trail belonging to the businesses there. Lots of green and a feeling of an oasis.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    34
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You can go for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful for biking, and walking. You can get on this trail many places throughout Durango, and get off as well. Part winds through the edge of downtown, part goes through the newer area, to the South East, and part north. We biked from the Home Depot one day, going North, and another day started downtown and headed out. Every town should have this type of attraction.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paved trail, great for casual bike riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Running generally along the river, this paved trail passes a variety of town, park and open areas. There are nicely landscaped sections and the town seems to be actively upgrading the trail. So, when we were there, several short sections were being rebuilt. In some areas there is very nice landscaping and some art. Great way to see the river, and the rafters. In some parts it runs along the Durango & Silverton railroad tracks, so pay attention. Good place to see the trains if you know the times. Be aware that this is not a flat path, and often has uphill stretches. You should bring water or get drinks along the way in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“PLEASANT GET-AWAY FROM TOWN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Starting our Durango visit at the Information Center by the river and too early to check into the hotel, we decided to walk along the trail northwards towards the town. I believe that the trail goes quite a few miles in either direction. We watched some of the rafters above the rapids and kayakers who were working the rapids. There are a lot of birds around which we spotted with binoculars. We ended our walk at the edge of town and went onto Main Street to find somewhere to eat. If we'd had more time, we would have taken the opportunity to explore this lovely trail further.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bike Path Through Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Definitely worth a bike rental to ride along the Animas River through Durango. 7 miles of paved path with rolling hills and a lot of flat stretchs so its a fairly easy ride. Go out early as a lot of folks like to use the path later in the day. Great way to access the entire town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.