We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can go for miles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You can go for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful for biking, and walking. You can get on this trail many places throughout Durango, and get off as well. Part winds through the edge of downtown, part goes through the newer area, to the South East, and part north. We biked from the Home Depot one day, going North, and another day started downtown and headed out. Every town should have this type of attraction.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    34
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paved trail, great for casual bike riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Running generally along the river, this paved trail passes a variety of town, park and open areas. There are nicely landscaped sections and the town seems to be actively upgrading the trail. So, when we were there, several short sections were being rebuilt. In some areas there is very nice landscaping and some art. Great way to see the river, and the rafters. In some parts it runs along the Durango & Silverton railroad tracks, so pay attention. Good place to see the trains if you know the times. Be aware that this is not a flat path, and often has uphill stretches. You should bring water or get drinks along the way in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“PLEASANT GET-AWAY FROM TOWN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Starting our Durango visit at the Information Center by the river and too early to check into the hotel, we decided to walk along the trail northwards towards the town. I believe that the trail goes quite a few miles in either direction. We watched some of the rafters above the rapids and kayakers who were working the rapids. There are a lot of birds around which we spotted with binoculars. We ended our walk at the edge of town and went onto Main Street to find somewhere to eat. If we'd had more time, we would have taken the opportunity to explore this lovely trail further.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Bike Path Through Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Definitely worth a bike rental to ride along the Animas River through Durango. 7 miles of paved path with rolling hills and a lot of flat stretchs so its a fairly easy ride. Go out early as a lot of folks like to use the path later in the day. Great way to access the entire town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“interesting brief walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We ate a picnic lunch at a Durango park as we enjoyed people watching along the Animas trail and the kayaks passing by on the Animas River. We walked briefly on the short trail, unfortunately needed to cut our time short there. I think the trail is only about a mile and probably very worthwhile as it meanders though Durango..

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.