We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to see the town and enjoy the river.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
3rd St & Durango Mall, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Durango, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great way to see the town and enjoy the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Love the views of the river, the Durango & Silverton Railroad, and the easy access to downtown attractions. A fun walk and a great bike path. Plenty of access points available.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    34
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Walking and Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Animas River Trail is a trail that I wish was by my house in SC. The trail offers access to the Animas river for fly fishing. The trail is wonderful for walking and bike riding. If you like to ride, walk or fish don't miss this trail when you are in Durango.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ran along this trail--absolutely beautiful in the fall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful trail (concrete path) along the river. It is spectacular during the fall with all the colors of the leaves and the river flowing along. Would do this path every day if I lived here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stroll with great views. Next time we will run or bike it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Easy access to the trails, wide enough trails to accommodate walkers, bikers and runners, gorgeous views of the fall foliage, river and train!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“An important part of Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This trail offers a great place to walk, bike, roller-blade, etc. I believe we were told there are 7 miles of trail in and around Durango. Great way to get outside and exercise from almost anywhere in Durango.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.