We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting local museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Animas Museum

Animas Museum
3605 W Second Ave, Durango, CO
970-259-2402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting local museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Interesting museum with lots of local history and artifacts. The lady that greeted us was very helpful and spent time with our group answering our questions. The exhibits regarding early crime and lawmen was particularly interesting. In addition, there was beautiful Pueblo pottery and other native American artifacts

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend a morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Keeping a teen and a pre-teen interested is always a challenge. The Animas Museum managed to do so. The staff were very personable and the introduction in the schoolroom engaged us all. Everyone enjoyed trying on the firefighter's gear and watching videos of historical characters of the time. The cabin felt as though the owners had just stepped out for a moment. Our granddaughters were surprised that over two hours passed so quickly. One even chose to donate some of her own money to help fund the museum!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located in the old schoolhouse, this museum is of great interest to anyone looking for some history of Durango and the surrounding area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One Word- AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We LOVED this museum. This is an example of a good, plain, knowledgeable MUSEUM. Not much of that 'interactive' stuff, which gives even more to the subject of MUSEUM. I loved the old school-house exhibit, especially with the exhibit where you can read all about the superintendent for all the schools and the district, the things schoolchildren had to learn, etc.

The 'Wish You were Here' exhibit in the basement was also neat. You can see what the pioneers had to endure, without the luxuries of cruise control, A/C, or even a car.

The Native American exhibit was interesting, especially with the small dioramas and Hopi beadwork.

I loved the 'Law and Disorder' exhibit. It even had a movie, which was like a firsthand experience. I loved the little pop-out newspaper articles on the walls, the antique fire alarm, and contraband. I saluted at the bell for Durango's fallen law enforcers. You should too.

Last but not least, the log cabin, the oldest standing building in Durango, was cool too. I liked the book on how the cabin was moved to museum grounds. I also liked how the cabin was set up, like the cabin was waiting for its previous owners to come back home. It was really cold, though.

I highly recommend coming to this museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This restored historic school and pioneer log cabin are true gems, located in the north end of Durango and a little off the beaten path of the regular tourist attractions. The Animas Museum has a wide range of exhibits about local history and culture, including the community's fire department, the railroads of the area, the national forest, saddles, ranching, and historic schools. One of my favorite exhibits was about the gunfight between Durango's sheriff and marshal that took place in one of the town's saloons. The gift shop has good deals on books and photographs and is popular with the locals. If you want to know about the real Durango, come to this museum. The entry fee is very cheap--quite a deal in this day and age.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.