We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to spend a morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas Museum

Animas Museum
3605 W Second Ave, Durango, CO
970-259-2402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend a morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Keeping a teen and a pre-teen interested is always a challenge. The Animas Museum managed to do so. The staff were very personable and the introduction in the schoolroom engaged us all. Everyone enjoyed trying on the firefighter's gear and watching videos of historical characters of the time. The cabin felt as though the owners had just stepped out for a moment. Our granddaughters were surprised that over two hours passed so quickly. One even chose to donate some of her own money to help fund the museum!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located in the old schoolhouse, this museum is of great interest to anyone looking for some history of Durango and the surrounding area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One Word- AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We LOVED this museum. This is an example of a good, plain, knowledgeable MUSEUM. Not much of that 'interactive' stuff, which gives even more to the subject of MUSEUM. I loved the old school-house exhibit, especially with the exhibit where you can read all about the superintendent for all the schools and the district, the things schoolchildren had to learn, etc.

The 'Wish You were Here' exhibit in the basement was also neat. You can see what the pioneers had to endure, without the luxuries of cruise control, A/C, or even a car.

The Native American exhibit was interesting, especially with the small dioramas and Hopi beadwork.

I loved the 'Law and Disorder' exhibit. It even had a movie, which was like a firsthand experience. I loved the little pop-out newspaper articles on the walls, the antique fire alarm, and contraband. I saluted at the bell for Durango's fallen law enforcers. You should too.

Last but not least, the log cabin, the oldest standing building in Durango, was cool too. I liked the book on how the cabin was moved to museum grounds. I also liked how the cabin was set up, like the cabin was waiting for its previous owners to come back home. It was really cold, though.

I highly recommend coming to this museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This restored historic school and pioneer log cabin are true gems, located in the north end of Durango and a little off the beaten path of the regular tourist attractions. The Animas Museum has a wide range of exhibits about local history and culture, including the community's fire department, the railroads of the area, the national forest, saddles, ranching, and historic schools. One of my favorite exhibits was about the gunfight between Durango's sheriff and marshal that took place in one of the town's saloons. The gift shop has good deals on books and photographs and is popular with the locals. If you want to know about the real Durango, come to this museum. The entry fee is very cheap--quite a deal in this day and age.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peralta, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Take a trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The museum is a little off the beaten path but well worth checking out. The history of Durango is included and very informative. If you are a baby boomer as we are, some of the items (school seats, for example) will bring back forgotten or wished you had forgotten memories. The history of area explains so much about the town as it is today and makes the entire stay one that was enjoyable and interesting. The caretakers of the museum are very friendly and ask that you look at all that they have to offer so you do not feel like they are rushing you even at closing time as we had the misfortune of arriving just minutes before. Great for kids but grown ups will also enjoy it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.