We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas Museum

Animas Museum
3605 W Second Ave, Durango, CO
970-259-2402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Attractions in Durango
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Never fail to visit. Love all the pictures, write-ups, and history that is there. Been here many times and have purchased pictures, books, and even jewelry that was on display. Love tis place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ALLIANCE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a well maintained building. It doesn't offer an abundance of displays, but what they have are nicely done. Among other things, there's information on local firefighting, the railroad,and the Ute Indians. There are some out buildings to tour, but it was pouring rain the day we were there, so we didn't take advantage of that. It only cost $4.00 for each of us and it was worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Schoolhouse still teaches history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Two floors of great exhibits that tell the story of the beginning of Durango - how it came to be what it is. Stories of law, order and disorder displayed in charming exhibits. Old cabin outside that can be accessed from the ground floor of schoolhouse.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Walk through Durango history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I had some time to kill between other sight seeing events. I am glad we looked this place up. We learned about all of the hardships early settlers faced. We also learned about how the FBI came to be. yes, the agency was created when secret service agent Joseph A. walker was killed. We were curious who he was because we stayed in the hotel room dedicated to him at the Strater Hotel. My favorite thing at this museum was the old pioneer home we were able to go inside. I have never been inside one so it was a real treat to see how folks lived in the 1800's. Very nice museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great small town museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Group of 10 - 9 adults 1 child - Wonderful museum full of lots of information! Lots to read! Not a ton of "artifacts", but lots of information on the area!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.