We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool place to rest one's head.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango to your Saves list
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
721 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B and a Bottle of Wine
Ranked #7 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A cool place to rest one's head.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a studio in the Leland House through The Rochester Hotel. Check in was very pleasant and the lady took me on a tour of the Rochester then across the street to the Leland House.

Check in wasn't until 4:00 PM and I arrived at 11:00 AM to attend the San Juan Brewfest. My room was ready and I had key and parking pass in hand!

The studio is small but everything I needed was there. Nice bath and shower, closet, desk, sink, coffee maker, TV, and chest of drawers. The queen bed was very comfortable.

Right next door is Eno wine and tapas bar and Cyprus Cafe.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jim,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time at the San Juan Brewfest and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
41
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'd like to find the soulless MBA schmuck, who has somehow convinced the hospitality industry that no-exception cancellation policies during high season are somehow acceptable, and have him/her horsewhipped on national television. That otherwise reputable establishments would nod along with this [--] is at least half as venal.

Our story was probably common: car trouble and emergency repairs in another state prevented our making our booking. As if the stress of all that wasn't enough, the bend over and smile attitude of the hotel was simply stunning. I will be going out of my way to tell as many people as possible -- friends and the hundreds of travelling university students we meet every year -- of our experience. The fairly rare but justified last-minute emergency cancellation is simply the cost of doing business. And now the hotel is going to lose probably 10 times what they won by stiffing us for a no-show -- all in peak travel season, where I bet they easily rented the room anyway and doubled-up on the short-term revenue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We understand the potential for problems when traveling. As a small, family run establishment we do our best to be sympathetic to said unforeseen circumstances, however we cannot always quickly turn around and re-sell a room like the larger hotel chains. Therefore, we, like all hotels have a cancel policy in place for a reason. We encourage potential, current and past guests to contact us directly to resolve any specific issue that might arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for just one night at Leland House B&B but would love to come back. I describe it as a quaint place and friendly experience. Downtown Durango is not that large, but this is at the heart with all the shops and restaurants nearby and in the morning we walked to the train station, maybe 5 minutes by foot.

When we arrived, the staff had already opened our room, the lights were on and music playing softly, very welcoming. As others mention, the included breakfast was very nice - quality ingredients. You'll want to ensure at least 30 minutes because the special dish is made fresh once you're seated. Besides the special dish, there was coffee, juice, milk, cereal, yogurt, granola, hard boiled eggs, and pastries.

The bathroom was on the small side (not a complaint, it's an historic building), but very nice, as was the bed and bedding.

My only disappointment came at check-out time. The person who mans the registration desk had left to tend to some breakfast diners outside. After asking nearby staff twice when she might return, someone jumped in to help me check out. Nothing major, I've just grown accustomed to turning in a key and leaving and it took maybe 5-10 minutes to do so this visit.

Overall a wonderful place and very nice staff, would recommend a stay here when you are in Durango.

Room Tip: We found our room on the first floor to be quiet and were surprised that it had a kitchen sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and write us such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We needed a room with a refrigerator and got a small apartment with a small kitchen. It was wonderful for our needs and we will definitely go back again. The Leland House is also right in town close to all the shopping and restaurants. It was clean, and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: You are in town, so don't expect a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Patty,
Thank you for your visit and thank you for your kind review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate it!
I will share your review with our staff.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from the Leland House and Rocheseter Hotel in Durango.
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. The places are charming and the staff could not be more friendly and accommodating! There were 10 of us on a hiking trip so we occupied 5 rooms--2at the Leland House and three in the Rochester Hotel.

Room Tip: The suites in the Leland House are actually apartments with kitchen accommodations if you wish. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sylvia,
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate it!
I will share your review with our staff.
Please let me know if we can ever be of assistance from the Leland House and Rochester Hotel in Durango!
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We brought our 14 yellow lab with us to stay in Durango. We all enjoyed Casita #11 a small detached place off the Leland House. The outside wall backs up to the Cypress Cafe so if you like jazz, you're in luck, the music will lull you to sleep but if you don't, bring earplugs. The reservationist knew we had our dog (they only have a set number of dog-friendly rooms) and charged us but every time we went to the front desk they acted surprised. They repeatedly reminded us that the maid was surprised to see our dog and was terrified of them. I wanted to say to them, you didn't forget to charge us why did you forget to let the maid know?
The front desk staff seemed a little persnickety to me, stingily giving us wine glasses and plates for a picnic. Then I read a sign in the dining area that says guests are not allowed to enjoy their own wine in the rooms. Seems at odds with the relaxed character of Durango.
The breakfasts are a highlight and the morning servers. A healthy nutritious hot meal is prepared every morning if you want it. And we did, we came to ride our bikes and those breakfasts got us over the hills around Durango.
Back to our room, the bedroom was fine, the sitting room set up odd and the furniture uncomfortable and there was no dresser to unpack our clothes! We were there 3 nights and just had to spread our clothes out on the extra bed. The chair for the miniature vintage desk was a tiny rickety thing with wicker seat that lacerates your hamstrings if you sit in it more than 5 minutes. I'm hoping the hotel will read this review and make furniture upgrades to that room as that seems sub-standard for the price.
Parking is convenient, especially for room 11 - off the alley. We walked through the Leland House to go to breakfast in the mornings and those rooms look small and stuffy. Which reminds me, there is a note on the thermostat in #11 that says not to touch it or let it go under 71 degrees without notifying the front desk. Ok, if I want to sleep in an ice box at night, why can't I? It was in the 90's when we were there. When I stay in a hotel, I do like to be treated as a guest, not as a possible threat around every corner.

Room Tip: Room 11 is larger than the ones we saw in the Leland House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We read and welcome all feedback regarding our property and take every comment seriously. Thank you for your comments regarding your room – we already plan on making some changes. I’m sorry our front desk staff seemed persnickety to you. Our mission is to welcome all guests in as friends and locals and assist in making their stay as comfortable as possible.
Because of our liquor license we cannot allow any outside alcohol on the property (Leland House and Rochester Hotel). However since we do have a small bar we are able to offer a variety of wines and liquors that can be purchased and consumed in the guest rooms and in our courtyard. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our lovely breakfast and the cruiser bikes. We encourage our guests to communicate with us during their stay so we can immediately attend to any issue that might arise in order to make the experience a pleasant one. If you would like to discuss your stay with us further I would be happy to talk with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Leland House recently. Absolutely top notch. Within easy walking distance of the steam train depot and all of the historic downtown area. Every staff member was gracious, friendly, and went out of their way to assure we had everything we needed. Always fresh, baked in house, cookies out to munch on. Morning breakfasts were delicious. Cooked to order, a different hot entree each day. Also an assortment of fresh baked goods and fresh cut fruits every morning, all served with smiles and friendly conversation. Comfortable beds, sparkling clean rooms, and beautifully decorated. Lovely grassy courtyard, with huge shade trees, pleasant place to sit and read or relax. Live music two out of the three nights we were there, also in the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind words. Please come and visit again for more music and fresh baked goods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Address: 721 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast provides cozy accommodations in the heart of downtown Durango. Offering 3 room suites or 1 room studios, the Leland House is great for families or the busy business traveler. Provided each morning is a full gourmet breakfast, tea and cookies are served each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Travelocity so you can book your The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.