We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango to your Saves list
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango
721 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B and a Bottle of Wine
Ranked #7 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
wyoming
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Leland House and Rochester Hotel are such great bed and breakfast properties. We just spent our 6th stay there. Our son goes to school in Durango so we visit a couple times a year. What a perfect place to stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are all unique (we like #11) and kept spotless. The breakfast is always delicious and the breakfast staff, I think, have been there for 10 years. And their pride in their work shows every morning. The hotel is right downtown and just a few steps away from all the shopping and restaurants ( We love the Ore House for dinner). This last Friday and Saturday there was cowboy music (cowboy poetry weekend) on this little outdoor stage at the Rochester. It was so fun.

Anyway there is no reason to stay anyplace else in Durango.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, they have these 3 great pet friendly rooms and they put these cute dog beds in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just returned from three nights at the Lealand (Sept. 19 - 21 2011) in suite #3 and it was fantastic. For those reviews I have read with negative comments about this hotel, all I can say is they don't get out very often. This suite was large and comfortable. Full of charm and if folks would only realize this is a old hotel built in the early 1900's they would understand this and enjoy what they have.l Of course things aren't always the way they want, but that is the point of staying at an historic location like this one. Would return to this location again. It was fantastic, from the great breakfast to the location which is walking distance to almost everything you would want to do and see in Durango!

Room Tip: Go for the queen size suites. They are certainly worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here three days while visiting Durango this past week. We booked the Queen Suite thinking that it would be a larger size than a room. My mistake. This room was so small we could hardly move around in it. The "kitchenette" included a small refrig, small coffee pot and a sink. The only redeeming quality to this room - Patrick - was that it had a nice showers. Another guest complained their shower was too small to shower in! Ours was nice. Breakfast was fine except I had to ask for decaf all three mornings. By the time she brought it to me I had already finished eating. I'd look for other accomodations or find out the room size and shower before booking. Great location to take train and walk to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Call them for the size of room and shower if you want a comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochesterstaff, General Manager at The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We would like to clarify this review a little further. The room this reviewer stayed in was a Queen Studio, not a Queen Suite as stated. The Queen Studios are our coziest style of rooms and we do try to explain this when people make reservations over the phone. The Queen Suites DO have a kitchen, with an electric range, full size refrigerator and cooking utensils. We would like to thank everyone for their reviews, it gives us great feedback that helps us improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I don't recommend the one bedroom suites for more than two as they are small and accessing the bathroom through the bedroom is awkward. Window view is of a brick building. But the 2 bedroom Pitman Suite is more than comfortable with room to spare! Nicely updated while keeping old-world charm. Kitchen large enough to cook a gourmet meal, roomy living space, and two heads in walk-in shower. The suite is located in the front of the building with a balcony directly above the street entrance, giving an excellent view of the neighborhood. Staff is friendly and helpful. Different hot breakfast each morning pleases discriminating connoisseurs. Convenient walking distance to all of downtown shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This property is very well located just off the Main Street area of restaurants and shops. A full hot breakfast is offered each morning at their sister property across the street, the Rochester Hotel. There is only one hot selection each morning, but it is very well prepared, and served to your table with juice and coffee. You can also just have a continental breakfast with cereals, fruit, and pastries, if you prefer. Bicycles are offered for guest use. The Leland House is small, just 2 stories, with maybe 10-12 rooms total. We had Room 4 (the Balsey Kern suite) which had a queen bedroom plus a separate living room with pull out sofa, and a small kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, stove, sink, but oddly no microwave. Aveda toiletries were nice. The downsides: the bedroom is VERY small. There is barely room to move around the bed. The bathroom door opens outward into the bedroom and you have to make sure the bathroom door is closed or you cannot get to the left side of the bed. There is no lamp provided for the left side of the bed for that reason. We had to place our suitcases on the kitchen table or we'd be tripping over them in the bedroom. One of the reasons we reserved the suite (at a rather expensive $219 per night) was because we had a third person with us (my mother) and the bathroom is just way too small for 2 people to share, let alone 3 or 4. And she could not access the bathroom without going through our bedroom - rather awkward. I'll never understand why hotel owners do not realize that a small bathroom with only a pedestal sink (no counter) must have a shelf somewhere for guests to place their personal toiletries. We had to place ours on the floor. This suite is adequate only for 2 people - do not plan on a third or fourth person on that pullout sofa. The staff is friendly and helpful and the property overall is nice and has lots of character, but you should know about the downsides. I would stay again only if it was for one night - I'd stay elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

The mattress had a valley in the middle such that my husband and I had to position ourselves on the very edges. Each morning we awoke with pain from the poor quality of the mattress. The breakfast hot entrees were so spicy that I could not eat them and my husband had to medicate with Pepcid. Our full kitchen lacked a microwave, which would have been tolerable had we had the luxury of hot pads. Since there were none, fingers were burned trying to remove heated food from the oven using a towel. The AVEDA hair products smelled so bad they bordered on toxic. The two positives: the original oak floors and the location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

For unique decor, central location and friendly service, book a room at the Leland House in downtown Durango, CO. Our room was small but delightfully decorated in a fishing motif. We peeked in other rooms and suites to see each with a different Western or outdoor theme. Rooms include some dishware, kitchen sinks and small refrigerators. The included breakfast is served across the street in a sister property, the Rochester Hotel. When we let the food staff know we had to leave before the posted breakfast hours, they thoughtfully left two brown bags full of food in our rooms the night before we had to depart. Free parking in back of the bed and breakfast. Charming bikes available for rental.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango

Address: 721 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leland House Bed & Breakfast provides cozy accommodations in the heart of downtown Durango. Offering 3 room suites or 1 room studios, the Leland House is great for families or the busy business traveler. Provided each morning is a full gourmet breakfast, tea and cookies are served each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leland House Bed & Breakfast Suites Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.