We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Drive Cafe

College Drive Cafe
666 E. College Drive, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-5322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ohio
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We came in for look lunch shortly before closing and the restaurant was empty. But they were great about making us feel welcome and served us a delicious meal. I would have liked a little more oomph in my huevos rancheros with green chile sauce but appreciate that some people don't. My spouse liked his eggs and sausage. Service was exemplary. I hope to return soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    27
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, fresh breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Out of our 5 days in the Durango area, this was likely the best place that we ate. It was very busy when we arrived for breakfast service, but our wait was not long. The restaurant is nice and cozy, and very clean. The service was very attentive, upbeat, and friendly. The breakfast was fresh, and didn't taste like it came out a package from the freezer. We had 6 people in our party, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. I had the Denver omelet and it was plenty of food, and left me feeling very satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Blueberry Pancake ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating blueberry pancakes for 50 years and this is the best I've ever eaten. I ordered one pancake instead of two. One is enough unless you are a growing teenager. Franci was our server and very delightful. The service was attentive, hospitable and speedy. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. Parking area is free and easily accessible. Good value for a reasonable price. Btw, we found this place on tripadvisor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The local food guide made it sound like this is an out-of-the-way place, but from our hotel (Durango Lodge) it is 7 blocks - 6 of those uphill admittedly, but still..7 blocks. The walk takes you away from trendy Main Street into a more workaday neighborhood that appears to be near the local college. The restaurant has a certain "hole in the wall" appearance. Once inside, the staff is great - friendly and accommodating. The food is hearty breakfast fare. Lots of variations on eggs, massive toast, cottage fries, good coffee. "Hearty" also describes the portions. I ordered up an omelet, and the combination of eggy goodness, whole-wheat toast, and potatoes kept me powered for a full day of walking around. Lunch? No need. Prices are reasonable as well. Definitely a place to visit for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big breakfast at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a friendly restaurant for breakfast. The pancakes are not only the size of the plate, but thick too! It was very filling, and tasty. They offer real maple sirup for an extra charge which is fair, and makes a big difference to me. It is a real down-home place, don't dress up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Drive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to College Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Drive Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.