We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful healthy breakfast, locally owned” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Drive Cafe

College Drive Cafe
666 E. College Drive, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-5322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Houston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful healthy breakfast, locally owned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

College Drive Cafe



Ambiance (10%) - 4- Cute and quaint. Their were hiking maps mounted on the surface of the tables. Small but quaint. Locally owned which is always a plus.


Cleanliness (20%) 5- Didn’t notice any issues. The tables and floors were clean. The bathrooms were kept clean

Service (25%) 5 We came on recommendation the first time. The waitress was super friendly, fast with service, and prompt with delivering our order. We came back the second day to find a different waitress- she was super as well. The staff is very welcoming and courteous.


Food (35%) 5- Both days I got the Earth Omelette with egg whites which was excellent (highly recommend- fresh vegetables, not greasy at all- super healthy), came with potatoes which were cooked perfectly without a lot of grease. My boyfriend got the Colorado scramble which he enjoyed, and the second day got the eggs benedict- which he really loved. The portions are ample, the food very healthily cooked- and was still super good.


Value (10%) 4 A little pricey, but the quality and portion size make this an above average value.

Overall 5- We highly recommend this restaurant for breakfast- it is a gem worth going to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Healthy Delicious Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Healthy breakfast can be hard to find sometimes! But this place has it down! We ate here our second day in durango and were very pleased!! I had the Mexican omelet, and it was perfect!! Spicy sausage and cheesy eggs, how could you go wrong?! My fiance had the stacked huevos rancheros!! He was very very happy! They had great coffee and great service! Don't skip this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a great place to eat breakfast. The food is delicious, hot, and not greasy at all.
Everything was very good. We ordered eggs with potatoes and bacon with sausage as well as pancakes. The food was prepared without a lot of grease or oil, just like I prepare it at home. The potatoes were simply yummy and the sausage was very lean. The coffee was great as well. It is a very small place with only a couple waitresses but they were quick and polite. Luckily we didn't have to wait but a few minutes for a table. The price is very reasonable. It appeared to be a place the locals go. It is just a block away from Main St. Go, you will not regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Healthy Breakfast at Friendly Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's hard to find a good, healthy breakfast while on the road. This small cafe in Durango, CO was great. Our waitress, Pam, was very friendly and saw to our every need. Egg white omelets, fruit, potatoes and plenty of coffee were all delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast including Amazing Blueberry Gluten Free Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Everyone in our party ordered breakfast and everyone was thoroughly satisfied. I was amazed at how great their gluten free pancakes were. Not only were they great but they were huge (see pics) and relatively inexpensive (2 for $5). The homefries that come with the omelets were also very delicious. The service was great and there is free self-service coffee while you wait for a table. If you are staying for any length of time in downtown Durango give this place a shot for breakfast. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Drive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to College Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Drive Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.