We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and drink specials” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Office Spiritorium

The Office Spiritorium
699 Main Ave, Strater Hotel, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 159 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Tapas, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Description: Cleverly named The Office Spiritorium, this establishment is designed for those who wish to relax after work yet still spend a little more time at "The Office." Featuring an award wining wine list, specialty cocktails and outstanding appetizers and dinner fare.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service and drink specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love The Office. The atmosphere is so much fun, and the service is great. You also can't beat the drink specials they have each week. Would definitely reccomend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    33
    21
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Waiting for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is an overflow spot for Mahogany grille. The drinks are good, (free pour). My wife and i usually have a martini or scotch waiting for our table. The service is prompt. I can't understand how some people have slow service. The service is always prompt. It has to be or they don'e make money. great quiet spot for drinks only or a way-station for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More mediocrity at The Strater!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Durango has issues with bad service at eating and drinking establishments, and for a town that makes most of its revenue from tourism, that's a real problem. Why people put up with it is beyond me, but our experience at The Office is a case in point.

We were there around 9-9:30 on a Friday evening in August. The place was, *maybe,* moderately busy but certainly not swamped. We were seated and our server did arrive pretty quickly, took our order, and several minutes later we got our drinks. And that was the last we saw of our server until we flagged her down for the check. Never checked how we were doing, if the drinks were all right (They were not. My mojito was flat and super, super sweet), if we wanted anything else, NOTHING.

Bill arrived with an extra $20 of stuff we hadn't ordered. Tried to get server's attention for five minutes or more, gave up and went to the bar where there was more waiting, until the bartender got the server's attention and the bill was re-totalled.

The space is nice enough, if a little confined, and the seating is comfortable. If the service had been better and less passive-aggressive (you had to be there!), this review wouldn't be so harsh. But you get this kind of thing at a depressingly high percentage of Durango establishments (NOT all!), and it just wears you down and chases away all the goodwill you might have had, and people should be warned about what they might be in for.

We went to two of three Strater places this visit: the Mahogany Grill and The Office. We will not be going back to either, and our experience at those two places soured us on The Diamond Belle, the third Strater dining and drinking establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Happy hour specials are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came here a couple of times during our recent visit to Durango. The barmaids (in keeping with the theme of the place) were friendly, nice and attentive (and we are over 20 years old!) The Happy Hour Cosmos are smooth and definitely not watered down.

We scored a booth by the window both visits so not only enjoyed our drinks, but great people watching, too.

Wonderful ambience - beautifully decorated

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are looking for a unique place to grab a drink with your spouse or some friends before/after a nice meal, this is the place. Quirky, extensive drink menu. Nice ambiance, frequently with live music. Adjacent to the Mahogany Grill and Strater Hotel, but not just for guests of those places.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Office Spiritorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Office Spiritorium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.