We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Durango Must Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread

Bread
42 County Road 250, Unit 100, Durango, CO 81301-8419
970-247-5100
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 159 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Durango Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

If you go to Durango, go here for bread, pastries, etc. Be warned if you yank out a credit card they'll politely tell you to put it away. That's right cash only. So drop by the ATM grab some dinero and get here. You will not be disappointed. It very bicycle culture oriented and has a good vibe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Life Changing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Believe the reviews that say the Sow Your Oats Cookie is amazing. It truly was life changing...I don't ever usually like oatmeal raisin cookies but this one was over the top! The perfect blend of oats and sweetness...I highly recommend it with a cup of coffee to go a long. Stop in here for an incredible treat and lovely environment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchman i New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best bread in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

On our way to the mountains or the Utah sandstone country Bread in Durango is our regular stop. Somehow we always manage to be there around lunch time. Many varieties of the kind of excellent crusty bread I generally have found hard to find in the US. In the (extended) area only Sage bakehouse in Santa Fe would be in the same class. Bread's sandwiches are a must, and their coffee is excellent. Don't expect much in the way of seating but there are a few spots outside. A little out of the way of the downtown area but worth the modest detour!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Everything fresh - bread, cookies, sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Everything is fresh at this bakery on the outskirts of Durango. The olive bread is to die for, get there early because it sells out. But don't worry, their other breads are excellent also. Their sandwiches are fully-loaded and delicious -- I love the turkey cranberry.Cookies? absolutely. The Sow Your Oats is as healthy as a cookie can be. Also try the ginger, chocolate chip, peanut butter. Bring cash, they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We rented a home not far from Bread during our first ever trip to Durango. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor before going, so I was looking forward to our Bread shopping trip. The breads were fabulous, the coffee superb, and the cookies were huge and tasty. We kept the house stocked with these staples for our stay. Yum! Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread also viewed

 

Been to Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.