We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Changing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread

Bread
42 County Road 250, Unit 100, Durango, CO 81301-8419
970-247-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Life Changing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Believe the reviews that say the Sow Your Oats Cookie is amazing. It truly was life changing...I don't ever usually like oatmeal raisin cookies but this one was over the top! The perfect blend of oats and sweetness...I highly recommend it with a cup of coffee to go a long. Stop in here for an incredible treat and lovely environment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dutchman i New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best bread in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

On our way to the mountains or the Utah sandstone country Bread in Durango is our regular stop. Somehow we always manage to be there around lunch time. Many varieties of the kind of excellent crusty bread I generally have found hard to find in the US. In the (extended) area only Sage bakehouse in Santa Fe would be in the same class. Bread's sandwiches are a must, and their coffee is excellent. Don't expect much in the way of seating but there are a few spots outside. A little out of the way of the downtown area but worth the modest detour!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gvmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
182 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Everything fresh - bread, cookies, sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Everything is fresh at this bakery on the outskirts of Durango. The olive bread is to die for, get there early because it sells out. But don't worry, their other breads are excellent also. Their sandwiches are fully-loaded and delicious -- I love the turkey cranberry.Cookies? absolutely. The Sow Your Oats is as healthy as a cookie can be. Also try the ginger, chocolate chip, peanut butter. Bring cash, they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We rented a home not far from Bread during our first ever trip to Durango. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor before going, so I was looking forward to our Bread shopping trip. The breads were fabulous, the coffee superb, and the cookies were huge and tasty. We kept the house stocked with these staples for our stay. Yum! Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AppletonWItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bring cash to get Turkey-Cranberry sandwich, or natural baked goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Seating is limited, but that didn't stop our family from getting food from here 4 times during a week-long visit to Durango. We couldn't stay away. Great natural cookies and pastries and bread. I ate 3 turkey cranberry sandwiches over the course of a week - and still wanted more. Just a mile or two from downtown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alabama Yankee 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread also viewed

 

Been to Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing