We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wapiti Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wapiti Lodge to your Saves list
Wapiti Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wapiti Lodge on July 15 for one night. We were in town for my nephews wedding and decided to stay one more night. The Wapiti was recommended to us by a relative who had stayed here and said it was not fancy but clean. That was an appropriate description. The lodge is one level, park in front of your room time of property. Room options are King bed or queen bed or kitchenette rooms. We booked a queen room and paid about $100 for the night; more than I would be willing to pay for a motel of this type, but this is a tourist town - so expect to pay higher prices for lodging! No breakfast offered (as the B&B categorization might suggest). In room wifi worked well. The bed was comfortable. There was a swingset outside our room for kids to play on. Located right off the highway on the southwest side of Durango. We did have an issue getting our room unlocked with the key. The woman working came down with another key (an Actual Key, not an electronic card) and by wiggling the door knob in the right place we were able to enter. She was very kind and my husband enjoyed talking to her about our plans in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late and had no reservation. A really sweet lady was still working the desk and gave us a room. She was really nice and has been working for this hotel on and off for 30 years. She was full of knowledge about the area and willing to talk as long as we'd sit in the lobby with her. Next time I'm here, this will be where we stay. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

...I stay in Durango a lot over the weekends, and I've always wanted to stay here. There's a sign on the front of the property "last hotel for 150 feet". It makes you laugh. It's right next door to the Residence Inn.

This place is darling. It's a smal - local motel - no chain. It has rooms with King bed, queen beds, and also Kitchenettes. The prices are much more than reasonable. It does not have any breakfast provided, but the store is a short 3 minute drive. If you need a small refrigerator or microwave put in your home, they will gladly do it. They do provide a coffee maker also.

The rooms are quaint and VERY clean - the beds were very comfortable, too. There is a small grassy area with playground equipment for the kids. There is a also a picnic table and grill if you're so inclined.

I was very impressed. The owners were very nice and go out of their way to assist you. A definate A+++ in Durango. Will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

If we can find them, my wife and I are always in search of the locally run motel. Often times they turn out to be a cheap franchise, are dirty and a disapointing stay. Wapiti lodge is a true find!

This is a family run motel just a short 10min walk from the Historic Durango Downtown -our number one criterion. Its location is awesome; walking along the 160 into town can be a little crazy in winter, but they keep the sidewalk plowed, so we were able to push our stroller w/out a problem. You then cross the river and have a short and lovely walk to downtown.

The grounds are very attractive and look like a park, with a small playground. We also brought our dog and felt very safe with him in the front of the motel as it is set back a good distance from the main road. They are very dog friendly -I would hate to see someone take advantage of these nice folks with an untrained animal.

I'm not certain, but I think all the rooms have a soft remodel, new carpet, paint, and fresh look. The shower has awesome water pressure and the room stayed nice and cozy during our Durango winter storm.

For this price, I was extremely impressed with this family run business. If you want the little shampoos, bathrobes, and flatscreens... walk two minutes down the road and spend two to three times the money on the brand names. Other than that, this place makes you feel like your at home!

I've stayed all over town and you won't find a deal this good this close to Downtown. While this is not a five star hotel (more like 2-3star) I rated it 5 star due to its outstanding value, service, cleaniness and appeal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wapiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Lodge

Address: 21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wapiti Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home in beautiful Durango, Colorado. The Wapiti Lodge has been a part of the Durango magic since 1965. (Wapiti means "elk" in native Cree language). Located within easy walking distance to historic downtown Durango, you can leave the car behind and enjoy a leisurely stroll to dining, shopping, local events including the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. With rooms to fit any style or preference, we invite you to come stay with friends and enjoy our family owned and operated hospitality. The Wapiti Lodge offers all non-smoking rooms with or without kitchens, one bed or two beds and rooms that can sleep up to five people. All rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Wapiti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wapiti Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.