We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Really Like Mongolian Grill, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mongolian Grill

Mongolian Grill
1135 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-6831
970-259-7228
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Central Valley of California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We Really Like Mongolian Grill, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have a Mongolian Grill in our home town and really like it. There's 1,000 miles between home and Durango and the difference between the two was was disturbing.
We were on a very long drive on the day we visited this restaurant and had two more hours to go and wanted to get over Wolf Creek Pass while it was still daylight. We saw a familiar restaurant and stopped for dinner.
The hostess/server was pleasant and took good care of us. The restaurant was clean and there were a lot of people having dinner at the time.
This is what was disturbing: Our entree was all we got. It did not include the soup, rice and egg roll that we are accustomed to getting at the restaurant near our home. Even though we received far less compared to other Mongolian Grills we had the pleasure of paying far more than at other Mongolian Grills.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If you like Mongolian Grilled Food, this is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

At many Chinese Buffets, they include the Mongolian Grill. In this Restaurant's case you can order off of a standard Chinese Menu, but the Mongolian Grill is the buffet. You pick your own meats, vegetables and sauces to be grilled on the big round cooking table. It was enjoyable to combine your own meats, vegetable and sauces to see what flavors you could discover next. We found the service great, the food was fresh and combinations of flavors were endless. We ate there on a Sunday afternoon and it was just $7.95 a person for the Mongolian Grill Buffet. I don't know how they can do that for that price. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Would definitely recommend not eating here. We recently ate at the Mongolian Grill after not eating there for several years. The food was NOT fresh - the BBQ Pork looked and smelled rancid. The restaurant wasn't clean. The service was reasonable. The worst part was that with one soft drink each and an entre it ended up costing $50! For a terrible meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“And the bland goes on...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I really should have known better when you have a restaurant located by "Wal-Mart". This is the land of GMO food... I really love my food to be tasteful and good; this is neither. I ordered spicy and nothing came out of it. It reminded me of Chinese restaurants in Albuquerque and that is not a good sign. I gave them a chance and i'm sorry that they served boring food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fast, efficient and low carb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

While Mongolian Grill is far from elegant dining, this is a great place to go for a quick, low carb meal. The buffet is loaded with a nice variety of meats, sauces and vegetables that are cooked right in front of you. You can also order traditional Chinese restaurant items from their menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongolian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.