We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE OLDER CHAIN & BEING UPGRADED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Durango to your Saves list
Knights Inn Durango
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“NICE OLDER CHAIN & BEING UPGRADED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

having stayed at Knights Inn's across the USA in the past, I was going to be in Durango, CO one night and just needed a clean place to sleep. This is an older property that on the exterior is being upgraded currently and though the rooms have not been recently refreshed, the room, carpets floors were clean. I did not notice till morning that there was no soap in the bathroom and fortunately I had my own shampoo and body wash. The staff is in dire need of learning customer service as a whole and when to not air problems in front of guests. When I went to check in, no one was at the desk, then a lady came in behind me on a cell phone and said she'd be with me when she got off the phone. She was discussing her hours, other employee hours and after about 10 minutes another lady came in and asked if I'd been helped and I said NO I'd been there about 10 minutes. She was very efficient and got me checked in and said my room was ready and told me of an eating establishment a block away. This morning when I went to the lobby for the "continental breakfast" - All Carb - and only coffee or tea, the original lady that was on the phone [I assume a manager] was telling two other employees within hearing range of 8 people in the dining area, that they needed to check all the rooms to make sure the guests had not stolen light bulbs, remotes, alarm clocks - "they will take anything not nailed down" was her comment. I felt this most inappropriate in the area, though I am sure it is true.
My room lacked grounded electrical outlets and I have a piece of medical equipment I use at night and fortunately the front desk had a two prong grounded adaptor that I was able to use without having to go out and buy one. That is basic safety. I checked the bath and there was a GFI plug retrofitted in the bathroom.
I'm sure once the upgrades are done this will be a nice property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    32
    22
    22
See reviews for
28
52
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

CLEAN, good beds, quiet-even on the fourth of July. Enjoyed the firework display from just outside our door. Very reasonable in price had a mini frig and micro-wave. The armchairs are in need of repair/replacement. Overall a good place to over night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our queen room was on a small side but sufficient for two people. The bed was comfortable but all the rest of the furniture and the bathroom had seen better days. The only chair in the room barely held together. The room and the bathroom were clean. The door to the room had security chain that was ripped off some time ago and did not feel very safe - it did lock, though. The breakfast was limited to waffles, muffins and oatmeal with coffee and tea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I read reviews and thought it might be a good place for a night. The bed was okay, but the pillows not so great. The room was kind of dingy. Hair dryers are cheap and you pretty much expect one in rooms now, but there was none. Breakfast was what I expected - waffles and small muffins. When a guest asked for milk we were told milk was too expensive and it went to waste so it wasn't bought anymore. Would I stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was clean and the people, especially Amy, were friendly. They were okay with pets and inexpensive and that's all I asked for a brief trip through the area. There were some places to walk the dogs briefly, right outside the motel, but Durango has a FANTASTIC dog park that you should ask about, right near the Doubletree. There must be 20 acres, with a stream (full of snowmelt when I was there) flowing through the property, and beside the Animas River.
If you are looking for a clean, friendly, inexpensive place to stay, this will be fine.

Room Tip: They all seem to be similar and feed onto a parking lot. Ask when you book for a quiet room and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Durango

Address: 3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Durango 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet North end of Durango, the Knights Inn offers clean, comfortable hotels rooms at a great price. We are on the complimentary Durango Trolley route with a stop right across the street. We are within walking distance of several restaurants, a grocery store and right next to the Ski Barn for those who enjoy the winter sports and need to rent equipment. Mild to Wild rafting is one block north for the summer adventures. Our helpful front desk staff and management are there to provide you with any information or recommendations you need to make your trip enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Alpine Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.