We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Durango

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Durango
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Durango
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Biker Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms were what you would expect for a cheap hotel. But the staff makes up for that for sure. They were very friendly as long as you don't use the towels to clean your bike. I stayed at the 35th and main location it looked a lot better than the one closer to down town. I stayed two nights and would return there again my next time through town. Definitely a good place to lay your head after a long ride.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us at the Knights Inn. We appreciate you going online to give us a review, we find them helpful. We always enjoy our motorcycle enthusiast and hope to have many more. We do all we can to make your stay pleasant and hope to be able to serve you again soon. Thanks again and ride on
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    32
    19
    21
See reviews for
27
50
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Considering its location in an up-priced market, the Knight Inn was a good buy for under $80 in the summer vacation season. The staff was friendly and helpful at checking. The parking was near our door. This older property is spotlessly clean, neat and in good repair. Unlike many upscale hotels, sheets stayed on the bed all night long! The continental breakfast of self-made waffles, cold cereal, juice, and muffins was sufficient. HOWEVER, if being connected to your email and the internet is important to you, this is not your cup of tea. In fact, if you and your traveling companion have many devices that simply need recharging, you will be hard put to find spare sockets to plug into. We would stay here again,

Room Tip: A small, classic "L-shaped" motel, there really aren't "better" rooms though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your post and online review. We truly find these reviews helpful as they give us a direction as to where to better aim our focus to serve, you, our valued guest. We are happy to hear you appreciated the cleanliness of our property, we take pride in its appearance and do all we can to keep it in the condition our guest have come to expect. As for your comment on the internet access, we will take this into advisement and have the wireless access points looked at for better reception. We will also look into ways to create more charging ports for electronic devices. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very small room, no chair in the room. The shower stall is very small (watch out if you turn on very hot water...there is no place to go). Breakfast started at 7 am and they dont open early. If you want to catch the free ride to down town for the train ride your going to have to get your coffee somewhere else. Not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was not worth your stay. We realize that we are a small, inexpensive hotel and there are some things that are just not practical for us. We are a small hotel but we try to accommodate as best we possibly can. Unfortunately as we are small staffed so opening earlier than 7 is not feasible for us. We hope that we can serve you again in the future and thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted to spend our money enjoying seeing the sights instead of on a hotel room. The manager, LeRoy, was very helpful & makes GREAT coffee. We were provided with a low priced room which matched our needs of being clean, a three nights stay, with a good, simple breakfast in the morning to start our day. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a basic room, this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you, both for your stay with us and your willingness to post an online review. We are glad to help our guest and are always happy to see when you enjoyed your stay. Like you stated we are an inexpensive motel but we try out very best to make it the best it can be. Thank you again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where do I begin? We made a reservation for four people weeks in advance, but when we arrived they didn't have a room to accommodate four, so they put us in two rooms for the first night and then moved us into a room with two beds for the remaining nights. The A/C was so weak that the room never really cooled off. Even though I asked every day, they never gave us four towels. Each time they cleaned the room they only left three towels. I even left notes asking for four towels, but they only provided three. The door of the room opens up a few feet from the busy main road, and all night the noise of traffic was very loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us at the Knights Inn. We are sorry that the room accommodation was not what you expected. We are a small hotel so a room to accommodate 4 people for a longer period of time is hard to do. Although our policy is to only place three towels in a room it is unacceptable to not meat the request of the guest and we apologize for that. Unfortunately in Durango most hotels are directly off of the main road through town as that is where most attractions are. We understand that traffic is noisy and apologize. Thank you for your review and We hope to be able to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros: We were meet with a great staff, rooms were will maintained and CLEAN. Breakfast was very good, too. We watched the staff cleaning multiple rooms inside and outside. They even folded our night clothes we left on the floor. Extra pillows were delivered within 5 minutes. We will stay here again.

Negatives: rooms are a bit dated, no pool, no dryer or coffee pot in room. But, for the price, I'll go to the lobby to get my coffee and go wadding in the river!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your helpful online review and for your patronage at our hotel. We apologize for some of the amenities that we cannot offer as we are a small motel but we do our very best. We hope to see you again soon as to serve you again. Thank you and God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel itself is fine, rooms are clean, staff is friendly but the beds are AWFUL! It was like sleeping on a piece of plywood, I was incredibly sore the next day. I had a room with two queens and the one was just as bad as the other. It would be a great hotel if they updated the mattresses. I would definitely never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. I wish you would have mention something we would have done our best to fine you another room that the bed would have been more comfortable for you. It is so hard tofind a bed that everybody comfortable in. If your ever in the area again and would Please consider giving us a second chance, we will make sure that you get a comfortable bed or find you a room at one of our sister properties that would work better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Durango

Address: 3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Durango 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet North end of Durango, the Knights Inn offers clean, comfortable hotels rooms at a great price. We are on the complimentary Durango Trolley route with a stop right across the street. We are within walking distance of several restaurants, a grocery store and right next to the Ski Barn for those who enjoy the winter sports and need to rent equipment. Mild to Wild rafting is one block north for the summer adventures. Our helpful front desk staff and management are there to provide you with any information or recommendations you need to make your trip enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Alpine Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.