We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Durango to your Saves list
Knights Inn Durango
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“inexpensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very small room, no chair in the room. The shower stall is very small (watch out if you turn on very hot water...there is no place to go). Breakfast started at 7 am and they dont open early. If you want to catch the free ride to down town for the train ride your going to have to get your coffee somewhere else. Not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was not worth your stay. We realize that we are a small, inexpensive hotel and there are some things that are just not practical for us. We are a small hotel but we try to accommodate as best we possibly can. Unfortunately as we are small staffed so opening earlier than 7 is not feasible for us. We hope that we can serve you again in the future and thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted to spend our money enjoying seeing the sights instead of on a hotel room. The manager, LeRoy, was very helpful & makes GREAT coffee. We were provided with a low priced room which matched our needs of being clean, a three nights stay, with a good, simple breakfast in the morning to start our day. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a basic room, this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you, both for your stay with us and your willingness to post an online review. We are glad to help our guest and are always happy to see when you enjoyed your stay. Like you stated we are an inexpensive motel but we try out very best to make it the best it can be. Thank you again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where do I begin? We made a reservation for four people weeks in advance, but when we arrived they didn't have a room to accommodate four, so they put us in two rooms for the first night and then moved us into a room with two beds for the remaining nights. The A/C was so weak that the room never really cooled off. Even though I asked every day, they never gave us four towels. Each time they cleaned the room they only left three towels. I even left notes asking for four towels, but they only provided three. The door of the room opens up a few feet from the busy main road, and all night the noise of traffic was very loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us at the Knights Inn. We are sorry that the room accommodation was not what you expected. We are a small hotel so a room to accommodate 4 people for a longer period of time is hard to do. Although our policy is to only place three towels in a room it is unacceptable to not meat the request of the guest and we apologize for that. Unfortunately in Durango most hotels are directly off of the main road through town as that is where most attractions are. We understand that traffic is noisy and apologize. Thank you for your review and We hope to be able to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros: We were meet with a great staff, rooms were will maintained and CLEAN. Breakfast was very good, too. We watched the staff cleaning multiple rooms inside and outside. They even folded our night clothes we left on the floor. Extra pillows were delivered within 5 minutes. We will stay here again.

Negatives: rooms are a bit dated, no pool, no dryer or coffee pot in room. But, for the price, I'll go to the lobby to get my coffee and go wadding in the river!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your helpful online review and for your patronage at our hotel. We apologize for some of the amenities that we cannot offer as we are a small motel but we do our very best. We hope to see you again soon as to serve you again. Thank you and God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel itself is fine, rooms are clean, staff is friendly but the beds are AWFUL! It was like sleeping on a piece of plywood, I was incredibly sore the next day. I had a room with two queens and the one was just as bad as the other. It would be a great hotel if they updated the mattresses. I would definitely never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. I wish you would have mention something we would have done our best to fine you another room that the bed would have been more comfortable for you. It is so hard tofind a bed that everybody comfortable in. If your ever in the area again and would Please consider giving us a second chance, we will make sure that you get a comfortable bed or find you a room at one of our sister properties that would work better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This property is located near the North end of Durango. We had been at the nearby Hampton, but the;y were fully booked for the last night of our stay, so we booked here, which was about half the price but we got what we paid for. The room was properly cleaned, but still had a musty smell. The window A/C unit helped clear the musty odor, but a next door neighbor was up late and carrying on a lengthy telephone conversation that the thin walls allowed me to hear more than I wanted. I believe there are better alternatives nearby, but we made it through the night.

Room Tip: find another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
i am so sorry to hear about your experience at the knights Inn North. I wish you would have contacted thee onsite manager and we would have been able to make contact with your neighbor and ask them to quiet down,. Your sleep and comfort is and always will be our concern. Since your last stay we have made changes with a new manager and housekeeping staff. If your ever in the area and would consider giving us another chance, PLEASE call us directly and we will make sure your taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband picked this place because of the low price. And low price in service and appearance is what they give you. Managers were nice but who isn't when they're taking your money? I spent eight years as GM of two separate french (non fancy) hotel chains, so I know what I'm talking about in regards to the hospitality industry. The "continental breakfast" was a choice between an apple and a muffin. How nutritious. There's a serious ant problem. The room smells and is completely uncomfortable. The paint looks like it's been chipping for thirteen years. There is an extremely tacky inconsistency with the room decoration. My bed cover had holes in it. I could go on, which is sad. The owner should be ashamed. Even a low price hotel should not look like a barn. Sorry guys, but either invest some money in cleaning up.. Or shut down. Saw the other knights inn going down Main Ave. Looks about the same, I'm not impressed. Definitely not staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sorry to hear about your stay. We have since made some management and housekeepers changes and would love to be given an opportunity to make things right....Please give us a call if your ever back in the area and PLEASE give us a second chance. We do offer more then Apples and muffins. We offer, Homemade waffles, muffins, oatmeal, OJ, Coffee, tea, Hot Chocolate, Milk.and fresh apples and Oranges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#9 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#16 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Durango

Address: 3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Durango 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet North end of Durango, the Knights Inn offers clean, comfortable hotels rooms at a great price. We are on the complimentary Durango Trolley route with a stop right across the street. We are within walking distance of several restaurants, a grocery store and right next to the Ski Barn for those who enjoy the winter sports and need to rent equipment. Mild to Wild rafting is one block north for the summer adventures. Our helpful front desk staff and management are there to provide you with any information or recommendations you need to make your trip enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Alpine Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing