We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Durango

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Durango
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean and affordable. Can't beat the deal! I would highly recommend staying here. In fact, I would again without a doubt. If you're looking for a fancy-shmancy place, go elsewhere. But if you want a nice, clean affordable place, stay here. The staff could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We were happy to have you stay with us and would be thrilled to have you back as well! We do offer a repeat guest discount. So if your back in our area please come on in! Thank you again, have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    29
    17
    19
See reviews for
23
45
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sal lake City, UTAH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are greeted by a sweet kid name Ryan, he checks us in and sends us to a dirty room. you could tell he was upset and he apologizes and tells us that he was sorry. My boyfriend, that checked us in asked were they having a little housekeeping issue and he said 'A little". We finally got a room on the first floor and it smelled and tiny misq/ bugs on the ceiling of the bathroom. The coffee was strong, the muffins you could hurt yourself with if you drop them on your foot. The OJ was watered down. The Managers were smokers you could smell it on both of them the little boy all he did was say mommy and crying or should I say whining most of the time we were in the lobby. The lady manager looked like she wanted to cry something about she had to clean rooms and she couldn't have a housekeeper with a few choice words about some woman. She had no clue we were sitting in the back corner by the door. She walked out the the side door and slammed it shut and all you could hear was a loud TV or Music coming from behind a closed broen sliding door. We were happy to leave we slipped out the door by the street table great get away door if your interested.

Room Tip: Do Not stay. But Ryan was sweet and kind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We want to apologize about your stay. We are new managers to this property and we are trying to do the best we can. We assure you that it gets better each day. We do have a five year old son and like us, this is new to him also. Living in the back of the lobby is tricky. We do however replace our breakfast muffins and Danishes every other day to keep our guests with fresh eatables in the morning. We personally apologize to you and your boyfriend for us not maintaining professional. We are smokers and with your comment we are now aware of how it offends our guests and we will be more respectful. We have taken all your words to heart and will work on the corrections needed to prevent these things from reoccurring. We also agree with you, Ryan is amazing. We apologize again for all of our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we tried to get a room here and nobody answer the phone, you could hear it ringing and ringing. i I don't think the doorbell rings. Trash can overflowing and nasty birdbath ashtrays DO NOT STAY AT THIS KNIGHTS INN GO TO THE OTHER KNIGHTS MIDTOWN.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately there was a glitch in our door bell system and at fault of our own, the phone was in fact left at front desk and not taken with us for over night calls. If you are ever back in the Durango area, please consider giving us a second chance. Contact us directly and we will give you a discounted rate and assure you that this mistake will not be repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was the only motel that showed us the room before we agreed to stay, also the only motel in Durango that gave us a better rate for multiple days. The staff was amazing! They were always helpful and always friendly. The rooms were clean and the breakfast area was neat and clean. They have a basic muffin/pastry juice and coffee breakfast every morning. This motel does not have a pool or hot tub, but with the giant rec center a couple of blocks away the kids would have been disapointed in a regular motel pool anyway. The next time we are going through Durango this is the only motel that we would stay at. We highly recomend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We thank you for coming and staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found fun things to do in our friendly community for your children! If you are ever back in our area, please come back and see us. We do offer a repeat guest discount! Thank you again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughtor & I was looking for a place in durango at the north end of durango and we stopped into this knights Inn and we met this wonderful lady samantha that just took over the hotel this night. she was training with her boss hanna samantha took me to show me a room to make sure it met what I was looking for because I was haivng a hard time locating a nice room they either was dirty or smelled. the room here was good but what sold me was Samantha and engnery to make a differnecce.looks like changes are taking place for the better, so give this place another try. samantha and her husband will take care of you

Room Tip: room needs a little work but i can see where the couple will make it right again
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ashley manager very rude, the room was smelley and dirty bathroom, trash left behind in trash can and hair on the sheets. noisey called upto to office after midnight and NO ANSWER,went to office and office closes at 9:30PM tried to call again and still NO ANSWER. went to bed left early next morning and I do not even want a refund or discount. just count my blessing I did not catch anything or got hurt from the people in the room next to us. I think it was a band or something staying in the room they had Tshirts on STD (scary name for a band). one guy kept yelling STD ROCKS and we are the best band to hit Durango. Rock-ON.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else. looks like party central for bands
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hands-down the single worst experience of my life with any hotel ever. The rooms were terrible the location was terrible but most importantly the manager was a jerk. this "gentleman"at the front was the worst customer service representative I've ever been near....BY FAR.
Don't risk it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Durango

Address: 3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Durango 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet North end of Durango, the Knights Inn offers clean, comfortable hotels rooms at a great price. We are on the complimentary Durango Trolley route with a stop right across the street. We are within walking distance of several restaurants, a grocery store and right next to the Ski Barn for those who enjoy the winter sports and need to rent equipment. Mild to Wild rafting is one block north for the summer adventures. Our helpful front desk staff and management are there to provide you with any information or recommendations you need to make your trip enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Knights Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Alpine Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.