We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a one night stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Durango to your Saves list
Knights Inn Durango
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value for a one night stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute choice for just a one night stay in Durango. We were driving through and just needed somewhere to stay. This was the cheapest one I could find in all of Durango at the time. This hotel is nothing special but it is a nice place to take a rest before moving on. Their continental breakfast includes donuts, bananas and coffee. For the price and location it was not bad. But know that it is not going to be a 5 star resort. It is good for sleeping, I would not recommend for a long trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    36
    28
    22
See reviews for
29
60
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

After reading good reviews on this hotel from Trip Advisor, we felt confident this hotel choice was going to meet our needs.

All i can say is that perhaps the reviewers were the college kids who work here.

This was some other hotel till recently bought by Knights Inn. They have not upgraded a thing. The room is like an hourly rental. The bed had the most ancient bedspread, and no blanket, and no mattress covers, just a single sheet. (i have NEVER had a bed with such lousy bedding. I went and asked for a mattress cover and sheet to get thru the night.

The furniture is ancient, the bathroom tiles are cracked, and grout missing, again like i said, like an hourly rental.

the internet was a big issue, trying to tie into their secured wifi, was again not like any chain hotel i have stayed at.

DO NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Don't reserve online, come see before you spend your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightsgm, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
I believe you have rated the wrong Knights Inn in Durango. There are two and we are the one on the far north end of town. I believe you wanted to rate the Knights Inn Midtown which was formerly the Abbey Inn. I can assure you that my hotel is a nice property and we have full bedding including mattress pads. I know the other one was recently converted to the Knights Inn brand and the owners are getting ready to start remodeling. Please be sure you are talking about the right property. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed at the location at 3515 Main Ave.for 5 nights. Just what I was looking for, a clean, economical hotel. The rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the microwave and refrigerator in the room were a bonus. Unlike many other places I have stayed the shower in this one has great water pressure - I could actually rinse my hair. I would definitely stay here again.
We stayed in room 201 and I did not think the A/C was noisy, it did cut on and off but I considered it white noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

$89 for a Friday night in July. Room very small, appeared pretty clean at first, but don't look in the corners, noisy air conditioning units cycling on and off all night, not a place for light sleepers. Afternoon clerk seemed pretty uninformed about the motel, town and Mesa Verde. Might want to consider spending a few more $ for a nicer place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightsgm, Manager at Knights Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
I don't believe you have rated the right Knights Inn in Durango. All of our front desk people have lived here for many years and are very knowledgeable of the area and attractions. We only have two smaller rooms but both are nice clean rooms. I believe you meant to rate the Knights Inn Midtown which was formerly the Abbey Inn. It is down across from the high school and we are on the North end of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. The coffee was good; however, the sheets had stains and had a human hair, the floors - which had nice newer carpet - were poorly vacuumed, the chair was broken, the bed linens were old and worn, the bathroom door didn't latch and the shower was poorly cleaned. Not what I would expect from the ranking.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We loved the spacious rooms, the helpful staff, the cleanliness and the location! This motel is for those who value peace and quite and its location at the north end of Durango is hard to beat!!!
We are budget travellers, but we still expect to have a good experiance on our precious vacations!!!
Staying at knights inn was a perfect choice for us. We plan to go back to Durango in July and we look forward to staying at Knights Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place is older, but nicely maintained, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is poor, like most Knights Inns, so don't count on it to pass for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#16 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durango
Travelodge Durango
#23 of 30 in Durango
3.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Durango

Address: 3515 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Durango 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet North end of Durango, the Knights Inn offers clean, comfortable hotels rooms at a great price. We are on the complimentary Durango Trolley route with a stop right across the street. We are within walking distance of several restaurants, a grocery store and right next to the Ski Barn for those who enjoy the winter sports and need to rent equipment. Mild to Wild rafting is one block north for the summer adventures. Our helpful front desk staff and management are there to provide you with any information or recommendations you need to make your trip enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Alpine Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.