We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buck's Livery

Buck's Livery
47000 Highway 550 N, Just Past Mile Marker 49 on 550N, Durango, CO
970-385-2110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Attraction Details
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had an awesome guide, Emmie, and she took us on a beautiful one hour trip into the mountains. The horses were awesome and we enjoyed every minute of our time at Buck's!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy, General Manager at Buck's Livery, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much Keely for taking the time to review Buck's Livery! It is special to be able to share this spectacular country with such great guests. Emmie and all of us at Buck's Livery, look forward to seeing you again...maybe for a 2 hour?
Happy trails...........
Sincerely, The Buck's Livery wranglers and horses/mules... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My 2 teenage daughters and I were booked on a half day trail ride. We arrived and the horses were ready. We are beginners. We were given instructions on how to use the reigns and we were off with our guide Sean. He was brilliant. Made us feel very capable and relaxed. The trail ride was stunning and so peaceful. It was just the 3 of us. We stopped at great views where Sean took our photos. We almost crossed the river but, it was very fast flowing and deep. We stopped for a break after 3 hrs and then it was just an hour back. Fantastic trip. Thank you

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy, Owner at Buck's Livery, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so grateful for guests like you that appreciate our amazing scenery as well as our fine wranglers. Sean asked us to thank you! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best southwest CO adventure you can do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We did the camping pack trip! They rode us in and set up Tipis for us! They had camp set up for us in the most beautiful spot! The horses were great and well behaved, the whole experience was amazing, everyone has got to experience it at least once!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy, Owner at Buck's Livery, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much Holly! It means a lot to get such great thoughts and reviews from our local guests. We are truly grateful for your comments and look forward to seeing all of you back in the saddle with us again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We always try to do horseback riding when available. We did the two hour private ride and it was great. There were areas where we were able to gallop which never happens on other guided tours. The location is beautiful with the pines and aspens. The horses were in great shape. The drive from Durango is only 40 minutes and it's through some pretty country. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hume, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN, SUPER PEOPLE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First and foremost, our fun and comfort was of utmost importance to the crew at Buck's Livery. We had been looking for a "ride" when we met (by chance) two of the gentlemen who guide for Buck's up the road at "Needles" store (Aaron and Shawn). We told them that we hadn't had a good experience trying to book a ride at a different stable, and we were treated with just a wee bit of condescension. They told us to give them a try, and they'd accommodate our needs.

We had a great time, with Aaron as our guide, we were taken on a beautiful trail down to the Purgatory Flats. We genuinely liked all of the guides and employees at Buck's, and felt that they enjoyed us as well. We have horses at our home in Missouri, and we ride frequently. We aren't experts, and we're not novices. We're just common horse people. In our experience, Buck's employees treat you like an individual. If you like to be treated as though your comfort and enjoyment is paramount on your vacation, then I highly recommend Buck's Livery.....and when you book your ride, ask for Aaron or Shawn!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buck's Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck's Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.