We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Mountain Resort

Durango Mountain Resort
1 Skier Place, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 90 Attractions in Durango
Activities: Skiing, Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort is a family-friendly, four-season resort offering a variety of activities for all ages. In the winter, enjoy alpine skiing and snowboarding, snow shoeing, horse-drawn sleigh rides, Nordic skiing, snowmobiling and more. Summer and fall offers hiking, mountain biking, Alpine Slide rides, zipline, scenic chairlift, disc golf, bungee trampolines, climbing walls, miniature golf and more.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Summer fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our grandson's favorite place. He just loved the alpine slide. Spent 4 hours at the various attractions. No doubt this would be more active during ski season, but still lots of summer fun

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    78
    25
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We only rode the chairlift before the rain came, closing all the rides. We are able to go back another day but that's not always possible for every traveler. Long line for the Alpine Slide. Food choices are limited as well. Wouldn't have the spent the money if I had known how limited our options were.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tiny, useless room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We traded a timeshare week in Arizona for a summer week here. Got a "studio" apartment that was terrible: tiny, the TV didn't work, there was an open, unprotected electrical outlet (dangerous for kids), and the sleeping accommodation was a Murphy bed which, in order to be used, required that you fold up the only table in the room. There was also a hide-a-bed; uncomfortable though it was, we slept there because the room was so small, we had to use the table for our belongings. The restaurant was crowded and the service was glacial; they'd just opened for the season. We had 7 nights to use here; left after two.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurangoMtnResort, Manager at Durango Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The team at Durango Mountain Resort is disappointed to hear that you had a poor experience at the resort. We pride ourselves on customer service and want every guest to have a very positive experience while staying with us. Durango Mountain Resort acts as the rental management agent for many condominium units in and around Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort. Each owner chooses whether or not to place their unit in our rental program. The unit you exchanged for is NOT included in our management pool – it is privately owned and managed through a third party timeshare company. The units that are part of Durango Mountain Resort management program partake in a quality program where the resort works directly with owners who place their units in our management program. Our managers make regular inspections of rooms in our management program, rating them, fixing things that are broken and making sure the room is up to code. Again, this unit you stayed in is not part of Durango Mountain Resort’s management program, so unfortunately, we do not have control over the condition of that room. We encourage you to contact your timeshare company and voice your concerns about the unit. We’re also disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience at a restaurant. Durango Mountain Resort takes pride in our customer service and strives to provide consistent service that is warm and friendly. We have shared your comments with the team so we can improve and meet expectations. We encourage you to give us a second try and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun with options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Took a group of 25+ to the Resort. It offered options for all ages but didn't keep most of them entertained more than a couple of hours. EXCEPT for those who chose to rent mountain bikes & go up the mountain....those were kept busy for HOURS trying to make their way down on the VERY difficult trails. The bike shop did NOT do a good job of preparing riders for the trails available. The ride was beautiful but dangerous! Everyone that participated agrees that they'd do it again...but that it would've been much more enjoyable if they'd been prepared better for what to expect. (& we would've been able to do it more than just one time since it took 4 hours to get down the mountain!) Trails weren't marked very well & got confusing with all the ski runs that are marked in a different area....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Bought the Total Adventure Package. Enjoyed the zipline, ropes course and the Alpine slide was the BEST! Spent about 5 hours there...beautiful!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.