We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cascade Village to your Saves list
Cascade Village
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50827 Hwy. 550 N., 1 Mile North of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Margarita or Draft
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Check in at Durango Mountain Resort-Purgatory!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was beautiful. Nice assortment of kitchen utensils except only 2 water glasses and one towel and one pot holder. Next time in stay in condos and suites I'll bring along some disposable cups...seemed to be a problem everywhere we stayed. Beautiful setting and easy 35 min. drive from Durango. As noted it is not air conditioned, but once we got the windows open and fans started it was very comfortable with 85 degree day. Room for a family of 6-7. They definitely need to tell their patrons to check in at Purgatory back down the mountain 2 miles, there was no check in on this condo sight, you can also use the facilities at Purgatory.....if you want to drive 2 miles.......big inconvenience if you need anything from the office!!!!

Room Tip: Privately owned condos so rooms do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    3
    5
    11
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all... no air conditioning. When we arrived to our 3 bedroom unit, it was stale and hot. We went to turn on the A/C to find that there was none. (Strike one). We found that the unit was very run down (don't go by the pictures on the website). The screen doors were either broken or missing and the trash was not emptied. When we went to open the windows, one crank was broken and the other one has a broken window. We went to the main desk to complain only to receive an additional 5% off our bill (could they spare it?). We were then ready for dinner. (Strike Two) The food was fair at most. They even forgot to cook one of our orders. So that came late. We complained and they took it off the bill. One of the bar people asked us how we were enjoying our stay and we gave him both barrels. He said he would take care of it. He managed to convince management to give us another unit. Again, missing or broken screen doors and here's a new one, electric outlets that would not keep whatever you've got to plug in... plugged in! The plugs were falling out of the sockets... every one of them! (Strike Three) Needless to say, I will NEVER stay there again and I urge you to look elsewhere to spare you from the disappointment and aggravation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cascade Village for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We rented it through the owners and not the local rental office. The condo is one of the newer units with 3 large bedrooms and 3 baths. Modern gourmet kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances. Well stocked. Large loft with a second living area with play station and flat screen t.v. There were a total of 4 flat screens in the unit. We had a breath taking view of Engineer Mountain, the Needles Range, and Spud Mountain. Gorgeous gas fireplace. Being June, it was very quiet and we enjoyed seeing the neighborhood deer, bear, and marmots. Cascade is about half way between Durango and Silverton. This was a wonderful vacation !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferris, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was about 40 minutes north of Durango on the mountain. It was awesome to be able to spend a night in the snow!! It was May so the snow was minimal but we are from Texas so an inch is like a foot to me!!!! The place was well taken care of and very clean. Very spacious and very comfortable!! The views are amazing!!! Will defiantly be going back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Condo is is good condition, clean and rooms are well appointed. Kitchen was really poorly stocked with cookware. The condo was clean but housekeeping couldn't manage to perform basic tasks like replacing towels and emptying trash during our 5 day stay, even though the complex was practically empty, the staff told us they were too "slammed" to bring fresh dish towels and toilet paper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I took our daughter to Durango Mountain Resort (one of our favorite places!) President's Day Weekend Feb. 2012 for a much needed escape. We really wanted slope side but decided to book at Cascade for the affordability. These accommodations are about a mile north of the resort but they do offer shuttle service. We booked a one bedroom with sofa bed which was plenty of room for the three of us. We enjoyed the fireplace and there was plenty of firewood available. The kitchen and decor was a bit outdated but the condo had everything we needed. We cooked all of our meals except lunch (which we enjoyed at Dante's on the backside of the mountain) and saved a lot of money! Our first night held some excitement when the fire alarm went off for an unknown reason. It took some time for someone to appear but we rolled with it and met all of our neighbors and visited in the hallway--once we all determined there was no fire! One night we decided to try the hot tubs, but that lasted about 10 seconds since the water was no way warm enough.....all in all this place is a very good value for your money and very close to the slopes!

Room Tip: Shop in Durango before driving up the mountain for the best prices groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughters and I stayed only one night, but we wish it could have been more! Our studio condo was very nice, fully equipped and very reasonably priced. We were just a mile from where our friends stayed at Durango Resort. It was quite with nice amenities, even though we did not have time to take advantage of them. The covered parking garage was great too. No walking in the cold snow and ice to get between the car and the rooms. The building we were in did not have elevators, so keep that in mind if you are traveling with someone who can' go up a couple of flights of stairs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Village

Address: 50827 Hwy. 550 N., 1 Mile North of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious accommodations at the Cascade Village are equipped with modern amenities. These include free Internet connections, wood-burning fireplaces, cable televisions, clock radios, refrigerators, microwave ovens and balconies. Bathrooms come with jetted tubs, among others.The Cascade Village offers various recreational facilities. These include an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a tennis court and a fitness center. This resort also provides free on-site vehicle parking and facilities for various occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cascade Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Village Hotel Durango
Cascade Village Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.