We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo, terrible housekeeping service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cascade Village to your Saves list
Cascade Village
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50827 Hwy. 550 N., 1 Mile North of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice condo, terrible housekeeping service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Condo is is good condition, clean and rooms are well appointed. Kitchen was really poorly stocked with cookware. The condo was clean but housekeeping couldn't manage to perform basic tasks like replacing towels and emptying trash during our 5 day stay, even though the complex was practically empty, the staff told us they were too "slammed" to bring fresh dish towels and toilet paper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    3
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I took our daughter to Durango Mountain Resort (one of our favorite places!) President's Day Weekend Feb. 2012 for a much needed escape. We really wanted slope side but decided to book at Cascade for the affordability. These accommodations are about a mile north of the resort but they do offer shuttle service. We booked a one bedroom with sofa bed which was plenty of room for the three of us. We enjoyed the fireplace and there was plenty of firewood available. The kitchen and decor was a bit outdated but the condo had everything we needed. We cooked all of our meals except lunch (which we enjoyed at Dante's on the backside of the mountain) and saved a lot of money! Our first night held some excitement when the fire alarm went off for an unknown reason. It took some time for someone to appear but we rolled with it and met all of our neighbors and visited in the hallway--once we all determined there was no fire! One night we decided to try the hot tubs, but that lasted about 10 seconds since the water was no way warm enough.....all in all this place is a very good value for your money and very close to the slopes!

Room Tip: Shop in Durango before driving up the mountain for the best prices groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughters and I stayed only one night, but we wish it could have been more! Our studio condo was very nice, fully equipped and very reasonably priced. We were just a mile from where our friends stayed at Durango Resort. It was quite with nice amenities, even though we did not have time to take advantage of them. The covered parking garage was great too. No walking in the cold snow and ice to get between the car and the rooms. The building we were in did not have elevators, so keep that in mind if you are traveling with someone who can' go up a couple of flights of stairs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked through DMR, but they did not tell us we needed to check in down the road, so that was a little disappointing after driving for 6 hours. Also, they didn't give us the hard key, so thankfully the front desk gave it to us so we didn't have to drive again. Clean, slightly outdated, but big enough for 6 people in a 3 bedroom. Covered parking and lots of chopped firewood which was great! 2 of the 3 rooms had twin beds, so just confirm when you book what kind of beds you will get. Hot tub was great, both indoors and out. Had a vending machine as well. It snowed a foot overnight and staff were up early plowing so we could all get out. Overall, great place for the $$$.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best part of our family summer vacation was our stay in Durango, CO at Cascade Village. We originally booked for just 4 nights, but extended that for another two. Fantastic views, wonderfully helpful staff (Thanks Kathy & Greta!), and the amenities of a fitness room and pool/spa area made this the best place anyone could stay. Having read some of the more negative reviews placed over the years, I can say that we were probably in an "A" condo unit. Very well maintained and nicely decorated by the owners. There is no A/C, but you are at nearly 10,000 feet in altitude and it gets cold at night - turn on the fans and open the deck sliding door. This is an older resort, but we liked it so much thatn we are going to look into purchasing a unit in a few years.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Checked in last night nice enough place except the heat doesn't work, and no hot water.
Called in a work order at 8:00 am, it is now almost 10:30 and no one has come to check the heat.
We went to the main resort for breakfast before skiing and at 9:00 am there is no more breakfast available.
I booked this to celebrate my husbands birthday with skiing that he loves and hasn't been able to do the last couple of years, and this
is a very frustrating dissappointment!!











Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cascade Village, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at Cascade Village and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We will share your comments with the appropriate department which will help us in training staff and achieving our quality standards. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and your feedback is very important to helping us deliver the best possible vacation experience.

I talked with my maintenance department and they did confirm that the baseboard heat and hot water was working during your stay and that a space heater was also brought out to help keep the room to your desired temperature.

We sincerely hope you will come back to visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great place with a great staff and service. Good amenities and just far enough away from everything. It was clean and odor free and comfortable. The pool and spa areas are well maintained. Just heads up on the pool area - the spa says no children under 12 years of age - but it seems that the parents completely disregard that and let their children "play" in the spa when the adults are trying to relax. Had to ask a few to please respect everyone - shouldnt have to do that with adults.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Village

Address: 50827 Hwy. 550 N., 1 Mile North of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious accommodations at the Cascade Village are equipped with modern amenities. These include free Internet connections, wood-burning fireplaces, cable televisions, clock radios, refrigerators, microwave ovens and balconies. Bathrooms come with jetted tubs, among others.The Cascade Village offers various recreational facilities. These include an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a tennis court and a fitness center. This resort also provides free on-site vehicle parking and facilities for various occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cascade Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Village Hotel Durango
Cascade Village Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.