We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Cafe

Animas River Cafe
501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
970-259-6580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were expecting a great experience at the restaurant based on our experiences at the Doubletree but were very disappointed. After we were seated, we were ignored. Finally, someone took our drink order, but then nothing ....... We went to the hostess and shortly our drinks arrived. Again, a long wait until our food order was taken. Our soup was delivered, and that was the last we saw of anyone. To make a long story short, we finally left cash on the table for our drinks and soup, and left. ( after an hour).

We went upstairs to talk to a supervisor, and got little except excuses for the poor service. After a short discussion, the supervisor did offer to make up for the poor service and brought our meal up to the room.

A disappointing evening, but the staff did try to make amends. I will probably not eat in the hotel again because there are many wonderful restaurants with exemplary service downtown.

The Doubletree is an outstanding hotel - but the restaurant needs some attention.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    13
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“ANIMAS RIVER CAFE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great place for lunch. There are a lot of good places in town, but it is nice to get away from the extra people. The service and the food was very good. If you are in the mood for a drink they have a great selection.
It was fun watching the people rafting down the river. Another must stop.

BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantanstic food & music & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic waiter and staff were very courteous and friendly. The views of the river with all of the locals using the river was a neat sight. The live jazz was also a memorable experience. I had a ranchers salad that I enjoyed. The prices are a bit high for some things on the menu, but the food, good service and view make it worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate two meals at this restaurant and have no complaints. The food was good with adequate proportions and good quality. It was convient with a great river view

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week in Durango, Colorado. Great place and lots of good places to eat. But the Animas River Cafe is a really nice change of pace from the Historic Downtown hubbub, and even from some really great places where the locals eat. The Cafe is on the Animas River (you probably already figured that). It is on the backside of the Double Tree Hotel and is just about 30 feet from river's edge. The menu has a lot of variety. We ate there twice and had the Four Corners Salad (FANTASTIC...and I'm not a big salad guy), The Reuben sandwich, and the Ale-battered fish. All were really good, especially the salads. And their iced tea was WONDERFUL...you can get really hot and thirsty walking along the river, and the tea was perfect.

The wait staff were prompt and really friendly. All of the seating is outside, either under a large awning, or cafe umbrellas. I can't say enough about how refreshing our mealtimes were at the Animas River Cafe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animas River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Animas River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.