We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantanstic food & music & views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Cafe

Animas River Cafe
501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
970-259-6580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantanstic food & music & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic waiter and staff were very courteous and friendly. The views of the river with all of the locals using the river was a neat sight. The live jazz was also a memorable experience. I had a ranchers salad that I enjoyed. The prices are a bit high for some things on the menu, but the food, good service and view make it worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate two meals at this restaurant and have no complaints. The food was good with adequate proportions and good quality. It was convient with a great river view

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week in Durango, Colorado. Great place and lots of good places to eat. But the Animas River Cafe is a really nice change of pace from the Historic Downtown hubbub, and even from some really great places where the locals eat. The Cafe is on the Animas River (you probably already figured that). It is on the backside of the Double Tree Hotel and is just about 30 feet from river's edge. The menu has a lot of variety. We ate there twice and had the Four Corners Salad (FANTASTIC...and I'm not a big salad guy), The Reuben sandwich, and the Ale-battered fish. All were really good, especially the salads. And their iced tea was WONDERFUL...you can get really hot and thirsty walking along the river, and the tea was perfect.

The wait staff were prompt and really friendly. All of the seating is outside, either under a large awning, or cafe umbrellas. I can't say enough about how refreshing our mealtimes were at the Animas River Cafe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super little summer getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved this little place tucked away along the river with great views. Food was terrific, too. Great couples date place while the weather is nice

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch on the River...doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not the cheapest place in town...but nothing beats the scenery outside on their patio - pay a couple bucks more for the atmosphere and tastier menu...well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animas River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Animas River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.