We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the River...doesn't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Cafe

Animas River Cafe
501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
970-259-6580
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #48 of 157 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Restaurant details
Description: The Animas River Cafe features a great selection of mile-high sandwiches and ''Grille'' specialties. Open during the Summer Season every day for lunch and Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. You will enjoy casual patio dining in the mountain air while enjoying views of the majestic Animas River. Open every day for lunch 11:00 to 2:00Open Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings 5:00 to 10:00High Altitude Blues playing on Thursday nightLee Bartley Jazz playing on Saturday night
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch on the River...doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not the cheapest place in town...but nothing beats the scenery outside on their patio - pay a couple bucks more for the atmosphere and tastier menu...well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    12
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Patio Dining in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Doubletree Hotel sure doesn't take the opportunity to make this restaurant happen. The location is the best in our beautiful town but the service is consistently sketchy. The food is good and out of the same kitchen as the main restaurant inside. We had a burger and a grilled chicken sandwich. The potato chips are brought to the table as an appetizer and they're to die for! Fun lunch cocktail menu too. The place just screams for some attention to detail to make it rock!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed going to the double tree. It was relaxing and the river is right behind it as well as the river trail. I recommend the river cafe. My server, fletcher was excellent. He kept it very professional but still up beat and funny. I would go back for their fish tacos and good service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great views of the Animas river while you watch the sun go down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great food and a great place to just hang to watch the Animas River go by with all the rafters, kayaks while eating great food and cold beers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, service totally lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went in a little after 11 am for lunch after checking out of our hotel and with long drive ahead of us. The river location looked great ; I expected average or better for service since this is affiliated with Hilton and that's been the case in other Hilton restaurants.

We were barely greeted; the 2 waiters and 1 waitress were gathered around , having a long discussion amongst themselves . We didn't feel welcome. I very much like contemporary music but wondered about the choice and volume since most of the clientele that showed up later were NOT young; neither are we. We asked for water since it wasn't offered. The waiter was pretty offhand with answers on a couple items.

What really got me began when we asked what the special of the day was. The waiter said he didn't know, then stood where he was, yelling to his co-workers, hey what's the special?? No one knew. Our waiter said 'well , we don't know'. I asked can you find out? That took several minutes and a couple trips back and forth. We put in our order, both asked for either the aioli or the mustard on our sandwiches to be 'on the side', and I repeated it because I don't like a ton of mayo or aioli. Our food came , nothing put on the side, the aioli and mustard were on the sandwiches.

The food was good but it took 25 minutes. The atmosphere of a nice genteel cafe weren't matched with the inexperience, totally offhand attitude we had from our waiter. Maybe just an off morning , but this was was our only visit and it was a strange one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animas River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Animas River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animas River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.