We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Curves than Sofia Vergara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan National Forest

San Juan National Forest
15 Burnett Court, Durango, CO 81301
970 247 4874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness area consisting of forested mountains, 14,000-foot peaks, scenic roads, geological formations, prehistoric communities and a narrow-gauge railroad.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More Curves than Sofia Vergara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

And just about as beautiful. I drove through on Highway 160 twisting through the forest on my way to Mesa Verde. Every aspect of the route - the abundant, lush conifers, the idyllic streams of the Rio Grande river, the stolid majesty of the granite mountains - is so overwhelming to see that you will want to stop every few miles just to let it soak in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    34
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We wanted to hike the Island Lake hike (8.5 miles) but were unable to go past the lower basin due to snow coverage. Nonetheless, the lower basin hike was beyond beautiful. We camped at the South Mineral Campground and was amazed by the camp host - Ann and Dan - hospitality. We are planning our trip next year for late July so we can do the Island Lake hike.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Gorgeous views everywhere on route 550. Took it all of the way to Ouray (Million dollar highway) and was wowed at every turn. A little scary at times but well worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place we live in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wish I could spend every weekend out in these woods. So many great hiking possibilities. Make sure you go early to avoid the afternoon storms.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cliff Dwellings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

There were no tours operating when we visited, but the park service does a wonderful job of giving you self guided instructions to walk and ride. We had wonderful views of the cliff dwellings without hiking out to them - although many folks did.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.