We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - Absolutely Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan National Forest

San Juan National Forest
15 Burnett Court, Durango, CO 81301
970 247 4874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Attractions in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Forests, National Parks, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness area consisting of forested mountains, 14,000-foot peaks, scenic roads, geological formations, prehistoric communities and a narrow-gauge railroad.
Richmond, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We wanted to hike the Island Lake hike (8.5 miles) but were unable to go past the lower basin due to snow coverage. Nonetheless, the lower basin hike was beyond beautiful. We camped at the South Mineral Campground and was amazed by the camp host - Ann and Dan - hospitality. We are planning our trip next year for late July so we can do the Island Lake hike.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Gorgeous views everywhere on route 550. Took it all of the way to Ouray (Million dollar highway) and was wowed at every turn. A little scary at times but well worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place we live in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wish I could spend every weekend out in these woods. So many great hiking possibilities. Make sure you go early to avoid the afternoon storms.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cliff Dwellings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

There were no tours operating when we visited, but the park service does a wonderful job of giving you self guided instructions to walk and ride. We had wonderful views of the cliff dwellings without hiking out to them - although many folks did.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“So much to do here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The San Juan National Forest has wonderful variety. You can be in the "low country" and enjoy the sagebrush/pinyon and juniper up head up to over 14000 peaks in the wilderness. The are great rivers, streams and lakes full of fish for fishing, rafting boating or just contemplating. Wildlife is varied and plentiful. The San Juan is not near any population center, so it is not overrun with people. It is easy to find solitude and you can spend all day and not see another person in some areas. Try that near Denver!

We love the trails and the back roads for sightseeing. The San Juan has a nice variety of user experiences from hiking, horse and biking non-motorized to motorized trail systems and jeep roads. There are many historical places to visit with a rich history of mining, ranching and skiing in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan National Forest also viewed

 

Been to San Juan National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.