We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter, Summer or Fall, the forest is always terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan National Forest

San Juan National Forest
15 Burnett Court, Durango, CO 81301
970 247 4874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Forests, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness area consisting of forested mountains, 14,000-foot peaks, scenic roads, geological formations, prehistoric communities and a narrow-gauge railroad.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Winter, Summer or Fall, the forest is always terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've lived in Durango for 34 years and have hiked, skied ridden and climbed many of the great spots. For instance, we did a snowshoe hike just before Thanksgiving and had a real treat. The trees were like they had been commercially flocked. Last weekend we skied at Purgatory and it was terrific snow. There is a fee for skiing. Back in late September the colors were just starting and the waterfalls were great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It rains in the rain forest!! Who knew??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had never been in a real rain forest before and had no idea there was one in the National Parks system. I took a tour from our cruise ship and really enjoyed it. Word of warning though - take rain gear with you!! Facilities were pretty, natural, and clean. Lots of buses but no real crowds that I saw. Other people on our cruise did the hike and loved it. Might try that next time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Natures Playground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a blast driving through the park and stopping at various points of interest. If you're in the area, dedicate a day to playing in the San Juan National Forest.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is a peaceful way to see Colorado.
also some great hiking trails.. just make sure you are prepared for hi altitude and take water with you!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We took the train through the San Juan Nat'l Forest. Beautiful..full of lakes, a river runs the length of it, and waterfalls.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.