We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet ride, cool scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
479 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sweet ride, cool scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice little trip from Silverton in Gondola! Was a little chilly so bundle up! Yummy Rusty Stake aka hot nutty Irishman helped to warm us up. Coffee is served cowboy style! ;) Jordan stepped right in to help any way he could! I appreciated his kindness. Chris at the Silverton depot was also very friendly and helpful. Overall, a very good experience and everyone should do this at least once in their lifetime!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,392
    376
    64
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great trip. Beautiful scenery. Terrific staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A friend and I made this trip towards the end of October, 2013, and it was a great experience. We had seats at a table in the 'Prospector' car which was a closed car and it was warm and cozy.. I wondered how the passengers in the 'open' car were doing on the way back as it rained and snowed on that leg of the trip? We had been advised, by friends, to sit on the right hand side going up to Silverton and this was great advice.
Our Attendant, Heather, was very knowledgeable on the history of the railway and also did a running commentary on the scenery and points of interest all along the way.
Heather also supplied refreshments - like tea - coffee - bottled water, beer - and more. She did such a great job and we thank her very much.
Great experience and we hope to repeat it one day in the future.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Prospector car up to Silverton and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Loved it! Great scenic train. Very comfortable fun and relaxing. I would recommend sitting on left forward side of the train. There are no shades..the sun was a killer on our side during Oct. ride.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The best Steam Railway trip you will ever do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a fantastic trip, the scenery breathtaking as we climbed through the forests to Silverton. Book the open carriages better for photography.
A big WOW factor here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were 6 people, 3 generations. We went to the train museum the day before riding the train and during the ride often commented on something we'd seen or heard at the museum. I recommend doing that! We requested getting on at Rockwood Station, which was a great decision for the kids; it shortened the ride by an hour each way and according to some other folks on the train we didn't miss anything by doing that. The ride was beautiful and the crew made sure that we got our questions answered about the area and the train itself. My granddaughter LOVED the hot chocolate in the refillable mug. We were seated in a closed coach but my husband frequently went into an open coach to get terrific pictures. We wished we had more time in Silverton, as we made the mistake of going to a restaurant to eat and the service was extremely slow. We should have brought a picnic lunch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.