We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold but amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
479 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Scenic Railroads, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Freezing cold but amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was an amazing trip in the outside car. I would ride in this car again because the views are better and you can move from one side of the car to the other, but wear gloves and a hat, and layers of coats and sweaters! But go!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    363
    61
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful train ride, a bit long but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The views from the train were beautiful but the ride is long so be prepared. The Parlor Car was at the very back of the train so a lot of side-to-side movement. Everyone was so helpful for our relative's needs with his ALS. Silverton is such a nice small town to walk around.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Amazing train set display”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The highlight of the museum for me was the train set display. My dad had a smaller, similar one growing up. This one had great detail and was enormous. The trains and parts were interesting as well. There is also a toy soldier exhibit that is quite large. If you are here for the Durango Silverton Train, this is worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding foliage and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am a railfan and have wanted to ride the D&SNG RR for many years. My travel mate is not into trains but she truely loves beautiful scenery,nature and flora. We traveled on 08-Oct-13 which is usually after the peak foliage but not this year. I blew the bank and got the last 2 seats on the Alamosa parlor car (there were only a dozen seats left of the entire train when I booked in late September). I could not have Planned better as I got the rear most seats, so we could look out of the rear window. The car was the last on the train and we could stand on the rear platform and enjoy the beautiful vistas. The 3 1/2 hour ride was filled with scenery that an Easterner could not dream of. Silverton is currently a tourist town and thus you get the tourist treatment, stores, restaurants and not much else. The ride back on the train was equally beautiful as you got the opposite view of the scenery and the afternoon sun. There was no canned PA tour guide but the hostess in our car (Sarah) not only provided the beverages but gave important information and "local knowledge" to enhance the journey. I will go again when the next time I am in Colorado.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Definitely recommend you pay for upgrade from coach to Tourist or Parlor to get a chair instead of hard bench, and nice service with refreshments included. Fabulous scenery along the way, good lunch in Osier. Be prepared - a surprise snow storm arrived in Osier Oct 10, so instead of continuing on to Antonito and getting bussed back to Chama, we were fortunate to get a seat and took the train back to Chama. (Roads did close, bus had to go way around and returned to Chama late evening.) Take your camera, great shots from the open air car that is available to everyone. Book early if you have limited time - see available seats online. Volunteers and crew well informed and very helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.