We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Trip from Durango to Silverton.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum

Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum
479 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Scenic Railroads, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard a coal-fired, steam-powered locomotive that travels along the same railroad tracks that miners, cowboys and the early settlers of the Old West used over a hundred years ago. The route winds in and out of canyons and past open wilderness affording great views. The price of a ticket also includes admission to the D&SNGRR Museum and the Silverton Freight Yard Museum.
St Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trip from Durango to Silverton.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The train was very nice. The views were wonderful especially due to the changing of the colors of the leaves. I would recommend taking the bus back from Silverton to Durango(shorter trip and different views).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    363
    61
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great fun, whether inside or out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was October and the aspens were in full color. Trip was enjoyable for the sights and the experience. (Dont forget the sunglasses if only for eye protection from possible cinders from the coal burning steam engine) A couple hours in Silverton provided enough time to catch a bit at the "Pink Place" for BBQ and to do some shopping. Again, it was October and end of season, so we got some bargains in the shops. All in all a fine day experiencing something from the days of yore.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the train up to Silverton & the bus back. It is not cheap combination but we did enjoy the variation. The train journey is a long one & I think going back the same way would have been very tiring.
We had a closed carriage but the windows opened very fully so did not prevent us taking good photos. I was glad of the shelter as it gets a lot colder as you rise (make sure you have something warm to put on when you arrive In Silverton) & of course there is a constant breeze.
The staff alerted us to significant views.
We were advised to book seats on the right of the carriage & this was a wise choice if you can make it.
The railway museum in Durango is also worth a visit. Entrance is free if you've a ticket for the train journey.
My only complaint, apart from the overall cost, is that the bus driver never stopped talking for the entirety of journey. By the end, I felt more like hitting him than tipping him.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Long and tiring but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We decided to book in the Prospector car and that was a good decision. We took the train in both directions and that made the trip longer - but the purpose was to ride the rails and it was delightful. Since we were a party of three the fourth seat was the only empty one in the car.
The scenery was great - well, spectacular. Our attendant was very helpful and a good source of information throughout the trip. She also made sure that we always had something to drink - soft drinks, coffee, juices - all included. We also got a nice souvenir coffee mug.
We were a bit concerned about being able to get lunch in Silverton on a timely basis but that was unfounded and we had a nice lunch in good time. We would definitely take this trip again but before doing so would take the Cumbries and Toltec train.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkertown, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“we rode the rail back from Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was a beautiful ride but quite long; we sat in the glass roofed car which cost more but I thought it was well worth it for the view; the staff on board were very nice and helpful when we had questions; this is a great experience but one way is probably enough unless you are quite the train person

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.