We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and authentic Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Favorite Foods

Guido's Favorite Foods
1201 Main Ave, Suite 102, Durango, CO 81301
970 259 5028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Guido's Favorite Foods is an Authentic Italian Trattoria Specializing in seafood, hand made pasta dishes, eggplant parmesan, veal scaloppini and pork osso buco. We have an award winning all Italian wine list, amazing daily specials, and a seasonal menu utilizing locally grown produce. Our Chefs travel to Italy annually to keep the menu truly authentic. We are located at 1201 Main Avenue and have an award winning patio right on historic Main Street Durango, Colorado.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good and authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the Northern Lasagna with a salad that was very good. Gelato was good like in Italy. It was a little pricey but worth it and I hope to stop by the market before we leave Durango to take home a few items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    65
    41
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The northern lasagna was very good, the salad was alacarte but it was good. They were really skimpy with the bread. It was also very hot in the restaurant. They had a nice wine list. I think the outside dinning might have been cooler.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHester, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food service needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We chose to try and find somewhere a little bit away from the centre as it was very busy with motorcycle enthusiasts that had taken over Durango,for the Labor Day weekend. Three different people greeted is on arrival and said they would be with us in a minute - eventually the manager came to us and we explained we were English and patient. The menus presented to us were a bit scruffy and marked with grease spots so not presenting a good image. We both chose off the special menu - wanting the same thing, but were told there was only one portion left so had to have a re:think. There was a short wait for the food, when it came it was really tasty. We chose to share a tiramisu which was really good and were offered a complementary espresso to round off our meal. Great food but service needs a bit of finessing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Italian gem in the mountains of Colorado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely food, very accommodating, European menu (everything a la carte).

We wanted a nice dining experience and one of the places we were advised to go had smoke damage and closed for renovations, so we decided on Guidos. As are most places in Durango, this is casual, but very good restaurant with a charcuterie attached and everything Italian. There is a lovely patio with plenty of seating, we opted for inside, because of rain threats. As it turned out, there was no rain, but our table was lovely.

We ordered much too much! Started out with portobello mushrooms...these were the best I've ever had! Grilled to perfection a bit of crunch on the outside and soft and moist on the inside...great with their wonderful bread and a bit of EOO that is on the table. We both ordered the veal scalloping with artichokes and a side of pasta. Then we shared panna cotta...much too much, but delicioso!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great outside evening experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a nice little Italian restaurant & market where you can buy prepared foods & dry goods to take home or enjoy a casual lunch/dinner in the restaurant or outside. It is located on the northern end of downtown Main street which is a little quieter during the busy summer season and has a nice front dining courtyard that is shaded by the building so no hot western sun.
We had a wonderful early dinner in the courtyard on Friday night & the staff was very accommodating throughout the entire meal. Many of the courtyard tables were reserved for later but they let us dine anyways. The menu offers a variety of northern & southern Italian foods and is not just the usual mainstream Italian, the mussels are popular and they serve sliced Italian bread with the meals. Great for a nice quiet, casual meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Favorite Foods also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Favorite Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Favorite Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.