We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food service needs to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Favorite Foods

Guido's Favorite Foods
1201 Main Ave, Suite 102, Durango, CO 81301
970 259 5028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 161 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Guido's Favorite Foods is an Authentic Italian Trattoria Specializing in seafood, hand made pasta dishes, eggplant parmesan, veal scaloppini and pork osso buco. We have an award winning all Italian wine list, amazing daily specials, and a seasonal menu utilizing locally grown produce. Our Chefs travel to Italy annually to keep the menu truly authentic. We are located at 1201 Main Avenue and have an award winning patio right on historic Main Street Durango, Colorado.
CHester, UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food service needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We chose to try and find somewhere a little bit away from the centre as it was very busy with motorcycle enthusiasts that had taken over Durango,for the Labor Day weekend. Three different people greeted is on arrival and said they would be with us in a minute - eventually the manager came to us and we explained we were English and patient. The menus presented to us were a bit scruffy and marked with grease spots so not presenting a good image. We both chose off the special menu - wanting the same thing, but were told there was only one portion left so had to have a re:think. There was a short wait for the food, when it came it was really tasty. We chose to share a tiramisu which was really good and were offered a complementary espresso to round off our meal. Great food but service needs a bit of finessing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Italian gem in the mountains of Colorado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely food, very accommodating, European menu (everything a la carte).

We wanted a nice dining experience and one of the places we were advised to go had smoke damage and closed for renovations, so we decided on Guidos. As are most places in Durango, this is casual, but very good restaurant with a charcuterie attached and everything Italian. There is a lovely patio with plenty of seating, we opted for inside, because of rain threats. As it turned out, there was no rain, but our table was lovely.

We ordered much too much! Started out with portobello mushrooms...these were the best I've ever had! Grilled to perfection a bit of crunch on the outside and soft and moist on the inside...great with their wonderful bread and a bit of EOO that is on the table. We both ordered the veal scalloping with artichokes and a side of pasta. Then we shared panna cotta...much too much, but delicioso!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great outside evening experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a nice little Italian restaurant & market where you can buy prepared foods & dry goods to take home or enjoy a casual lunch/dinner in the restaurant or outside. It is located on the northern end of downtown Main street which is a little quieter during the busy summer season and has a nice front dining courtyard that is shaded by the building so no hot western sun.
We had a wonderful early dinner in the courtyard on Friday night & the staff was very accommodating throughout the entire meal. Many of the courtyard tables were reserved for later but they let us dine anyways. The menu offers a variety of northern & southern Italian foods and is not just the usual mainstream Italian, the mussels are popular and they serve sliced Italian bread with the meals. Great for a nice quiet, casual meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Because the employee who took our reservation made two mistakes--he booked us for a Sunday evening when the restaurant is normally closed and he did not take our phone number--the owner/chef Susan decided to honor our reservation. She opened the restaurant to our party of 5 and cooked us a fabulous Italian meal. Her daughter was our server and we had a wonderful evening. Our dinner--shrimp wrapped in bacon, caprese salad, rigatoni with Bolognese sauce, bucatini Amatriciana, rolled pork loin, turkey scallopine in mushroom sauce, a fabulous Chianti, and excellent coffee--was top notch from start to finish. We are locals and Guido's is by far the best Italian food in Durango and one of our two favorite restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian/Deli in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Delicious food in the restaurant (I suggest the turkey scallopine or rosa) and also an amazing European style deli/market. Guido's is a very traditional Italian restaurant, but you can find something for everyone on the menu. I highly suggest coming here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Favorite Foods also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Favorite Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Favorite Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.